Skip to main content
banner link link link link link link

Finding Book Reviews

Databases

Booklist

Booklist Online is an online database of over 130,000 book reviews from the American Library Association. You can access it at home with your library card number.
Go to: http://www.booklistonline.com

NCLive.org

The Books and Literature section of NCLive.org contains several databases that feature book reviews:

  • Literature Resource Center via Artemis (GALE) includes articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
  • Do a search for reviews published in journals, magazines, and newspapers in NCLive.org databases.
    • If the title is short or contains common phrases, do a search by the name of the author and the title.

Title: Leaves of Grass

Author: Walt Whitman

Search phrase: Leaves of Grass Whitman

  • If there is a subtitle, try with and without the subtitle.
  • Or use Search by Title link, and browse e-journals by subject: choose Language & Literatures from the drop down menu.
  • The New York Times Book Review (weekly), and The New York Times, (daily) Late Edition – East Coast online issues from 1980 until the present include book reviews. 

NCLive.org is available from any computer with internet access; you can use it at all Gaston County Public Libraries or at home with your library card number.

The New York Times Book Review

Bound volumes of The New York Times Book Review are available at the Gastonia Main Library for Oct 1896 to 1978. A five volume index covering 1896 - 1970 is shelved in the Reference Section along with the bound volumes.

Finding Books at the Library

Search the library Catalog by Title. On the results page, click the title of the book to see the full display; scroll down for available reviews.

Book Review Digest
  • R015 BOO. Book Review Digest. 1905 to date.
    There are cumulative title and author indexes for 1905 - 1994. Each entry has a short summary of the book and excerpts from up to 4 reviews.
Gale Criticism Sets

Start your research with the online index to literary criticism sets published by Gale.

However, the index will include volumes and sets that the library does not own. See the following list to view the sets and volumes owned by the Gaston County Public Library:

  • R028.1 C. Children’s Literature Review. Volumes 1 – 133.
    • Missing: 42.
  • R809.04 C. Contemporary Literary Criticism. Volumes 1 – 269.
    • Missing: 121 – 124.
  • R809.04 N. Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism. Volumes 1 – 118.
    • Missing: 80 – 82.
  • R809.04 T. Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Volumes 1 – 128.
    • Missing: 87 – 90.
  • R928 C. Contemporary Authors. Volumes 1 – 257.
    • Missing: 177 – 180; 237 – 256.
  • R928 S. Something About the Author. Volumes 1 – current.
    • Missing: 109 – 111.
  • R928.1 DIC. Dictionary of Literary Biography. Volumes 1 – 368.
    • Missing: 26, 53, 214 – 219.

©Copyright 2015, Gaston County Public Library. All Rights Reserved.