Skip to main content
banner link link link link link link

You & the Law

The resources provided here are not a substitute for professional legal advice. The library staff have no legal training and cannot conduct legal research for you. Library staff also cannot provide legal advice, interpretation, or assistance for you.

State Law

Laws
  • N.C. General Statutes Online : The most current statutes enacted by the General Assembly.
    Go to: http://www.ncleg.net/gascripts/Statutes/Statutes.asp
    • The printed version is West's North Carolina General Statutes Annotated, R345.12 NOR N.C.
  • N.C. Session Laws: Local laws go back to 1959.
    Go to: http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/gascripts/EnactedLegislation/ELTOC.pl?sType=Law
Regulations
  • North Carolina Administrative Code: Covers state code from agriculture to juvenile justice.
    Go to: http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
  • North Carolina State Building Code: You will be able to view the new 2015 North Carolina Codes in an Adobe Reader format. The files found on this site are in a read only format and are not available for printing.
    Go to: https://codes.iccsafe.org/public/collections/NC
    • You can also access a printable digital copy of the 2012 North Carolina State Building Codes at the Reference Desk at the Main Library.
  • The North Carolina Register Online: Includes agency rules, executive orders, contested cases, etc.
    Go to: http://www.oah.state.nc.us/rules/register/

Local

Local Law

Gaston County
  • County Ordinances: Covers every ordinance from animals to zoning.
    Go to: http://Library.municode.com/index.aspx?clientId=12056
  • Unified Development Ordinance: All land use ordinances have been condensed into one document that includes: Zoning, Subdivision, Manufactured Home Park, Watershed Water Supply, and Flood Damage Prevention. The UDO also addresses certain development requirements such as but not limited to land use/zoning of property, design of commercial buildings, subdivision and residential development design, landscaping and open space designations, and water quality protection.
    Go to: http://library.municode.com/index.aspx?clientID=14664&stateID=33&statename=North%20Carolina
City of Gastonia
  • City Code of Ordinances: City ordinances from elections to housing.
    Go to: http://Library.municode.com/index.aspx?clientId=12799

NC Courts

Court decisions that become a body of law in a jurisdiction are called case law. These decisions are also often referred to as "precedents" and are bound in volumes called "reporters." For print collections of reporters, one generally needs to visit a law library.

The Gaston County Public Library does not have a case law collection and most online case law is only available for a fee through a vendor.

  • Lexis Web: Search the last ten years of State & Federal Courts and U.S. Supreme Court from 1781 to present.
    Go to: http://www.lexisone.com/lx1/caselaw/freecaselaw
  • The North Carolina Court System: Information on different N.C. courts, including petition decisions, court opinions, etc. [En Espa├▒ol]
    Go to: http://www.nccourts.org/
  • R348.756 STR N.C.. Strong's North Carolina Index 4th. An index to reporters for North Carolina state law.
Gaston County Courthouse

325 N Marietta St
Gastonia NC 28052-2331
704-852-3100
http://www.nccourts.org/County/Gaston/Default.asp

Divorce

  • LawHelpNC.org: This section includes a link to download a packet of information on how to file for divorce in North Carolina without a lawyer.
    Go to: http://www.lawhelpnc.org/issues/family-and-juvenile/divorceseparation-annulment

┬ęCopyright 2015, Gaston County Public Library. All Rights Reserved.