Skip to main content
banner link link link link link link

Finding Free eBooks & eAudiobooks

Where can I find FREE eBooks & eAudiobooks?

There are a number of places that you can find free eBooks & eAudiobooks. The first place to look is at your local library!

With a library card, you will gain access to two types of eBooks and eAudiobooks: downloadable and read-only in your browser.

  • Downloadable: You are able to download and save a copy of the eBook or eAudiobook to your computer or device.
  • Read-only in your Browser: You can read the eBook on your computer screen or on a device with a web browser, but you are unable to transfer it to any device that does not have a web browser. If you own a tablet or eReader with a web browser on it, you could use that browser to both navigate to and to read the eBook.

Library eBooks

As you search our catalog, you will find titles with the call number "INTERNET". Click the book title for one of these records and you will be directed to one of the eBook or eAudiobook providers below. You can also access our eBook and eAudiobooks by going to gastonlibrary.org and selecting "Online Databases".
Go to: http://gastonlibrary.org/online-databases/

North Carolina Digital Library

The North Carolina Digital Library (NCDL) provides downloadable eBooks and eAudiobooks for patrons of the Gaston County Public Library. NCDL eBooks and eAudiobooks are protected by Adobe Digital Editions DRM. You will need to create an "Adobe ID" upon downloading the Adobe Digital Editions software to your home computer, or by going to Adobe.com and registering there. Not all eReaders or mobile devices are compatible with Adobe Digital Editions DRM, so be sure to check this list of Library Compatible eBook Devices (PDF) to make sure your device is included before borrowing a book from the NCDL.

NC Kids Digital Library

NC Kids Digital Library is a new database provided by Overdrive devoted to children's literature.

OneClickDigital from Recorded Books

OneClickDigital provides downloadable eAudiobooks for patrons of the Gaston County Public Library.

NCLive.org

NCLive.org provides primarily read-only in your browser eBooks, although there are a few downloadable titles as well. The following is a list of the individual NCLive.org databases that include eBooks:

  • EBSCOhost eBook Collection includes the widest variety of eBooks, including fiction, non-fiction, children's, and even Cliff Notes. You can search by author, title, subject or keyword just as you do in the library's catalog.
  • MyiLibrary eBook Collection has a large collection of non-fiction available.
  • ABC-CLIO eBook Collection provides history and literature titles, including a large collection of American slave narratives.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library contains encyclopedias and reference books.
  • LearningExpress Library: Select a Learning Center on the left to discover practice tests and eBooks on that subject.
  • HeritageQuest includes over 28,000 local history and genealogy titles (most pre-1923). You can read and search the books online or download up to 50 pages to your own computer.
  • CQ Researcher provides reports on current affairs which can be saved to your computer.
Open Library

The Open Library is an eBook lending library created from the donations of libraries from all over the world -- including Gaston County Public Library! The collection contains a wide variety of eBooks; you'll never know what you'll find here! These items can be read either in your browser or downloaded.

Freading

Freading is a free eBook service from your library. Library card required.

Zinio

Try Zinio for full digital copies of your favorite magazines, view magazines on your computer or mobile device, unlimited access to our entire collection. Library card required.

Non-Library (but still free) eBooks

  • Free eBooks from Amazon.com: Free classics and out-of-copyright, pre-1923 (requires Kindle device or app).
    Go to: http://www.amazon.com/b?ie=UTF8&node=2245146011
  • Kobo Free eBooks (requires Kobo device or app).
    Go to: http://www.kobobooks.com/free_ebooks
  • Free Nook Books (requires Nook device or app).
    Go to: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/u/Free-eBooks/379003078/
  • Baen Free Library provides a small selection of downloadable science fiction and fantasy titles that they publish digitally.
    Go to: http://www.baenebooks.com/c-1-free-library.aspx
  • Documenting the American South has read-only in your browser early North Carolina history and literature.
    Go to: http://docsouth.unc.edu/index.html

┬ęCopyright 2015, Gaston County Public Library. All Rights Reserved.