LibGuides: Census Records: Census Records Online

1940 Federal Census Index: Gaston County (EDs 36-1 to 36-15) Index, Browse; Gaston County (EDs 36-16 to 36-44) Index, Browse; Gaston County (EDs 36-45 to 36-67) Index, Browse

1950 United States Federal Census (Free Ancestry.com Access for 1950 Census)

Nonpopulation Census Records

Nonpopulation census schedules for North Carolina, 1850-1880, mortality and manufacturing [industry]

1850 mortality schedules (NARA Series M1805, Roll 1) (Searchable by Deceased Ancestor's Information)
1850 industry schedules (NARA Series M1805, Roll 6) (Browse)
1860 mortality and industry schedules (NARA Series M1805, Roll 2) (Browse)
1870 mortality schedules (NARA Series M1805, Roll 3) (Browse)
1870 industry schedules and retakes of agricultural and mortality schedules (NARA Series M1805, Roll 7) (Browse)
1880 mortality schedules, Alamance-Pitt counties (NARA Series M1805, Roll 4) (Browse)
1880 mortality schedules, Polk-Yancey counties (NARA Series M1805, Roll 5) (Browse)
1880 industry schedules, Alamance-Franklin counties (NARA Series M1805, Roll 8) (Browse)
1880 industry schedules, Gaston-Yancey counties (NARA Series M1805, Roll 9) (Browse)

North Carolina 1860 federal census : agricultural schedules

Ancestry Library Edition has the following collections:

U.S., Selected Federal Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880 (Agriculture Schedules; Industry/Manufacturers Schedules; Social Statistics and Supplemental Schedules)
U.S., Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885
U.S., Federal Census Mortality Schedules Index, 1850-1880

Slave Schedules

The slave schedules do NOT include the names of the slaves. They list the name of the slave owner and give details on the number of slaves owned by age and sex.

United States Census (Slave Schedule), 1850 is at FamilySearch.org.
Go to: https://familysearch.org/search/collection/1420440
The 1860 slave schedule is available at Internet Archive (includes Reel 920 - Reel 927). Gaston County is located on Reel 922.
Go to: https://archive.org/details/populationschedu922unit
Ancestry Library Edition has the following collections:
- 1850 U.S. Federal Census - Slave Schedules
- 1860 U.S. Federal Census - Slave Schedules

Special Census

There is a surviving special census from 1890 of Union veterans. In a few places the enumerator also listed Confederate veterans.

Available in Ancestry Library Edition
United States Census of Union Veterans and Widows of the Civil War, 1890 is at FamilySearch.org
Go to: https://familysearch.org/search/collection/1877095
1890 Special Schedule of the 11th Census enumerating Union Veterans and Widows of Union Veterans of the Civil War. Microfilm Copy Available at the Gastonia Main Library.

Ancestry Library Edition has the following collections:

U.S., Special Census on Deaf Family Marriages and Hearing Relatives, 1888-1895
U.S., 1880 Federal Census Schedules of Defective, Dependent, and Delinquent Classes