Digital Gaston County, North Carolina

Architecture - Public and Commercial Buildings

• Library, Public, Gastonia, NC (1930) White, Streeter, Chamberlain (Image 1)
• Library, Public, Gastonia, NC (1930) White, Streeter, Chamberlain (Image 2)

For more online collections of digitized documents associated with Gaston County, North Carolina:

Go to: https://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/digital-gaston-county/home

Gaston County Public Library Art Collection 

Photographs and documents from the Library Branches of the Gaston County Public Library.

Belmont Library Branch Collection

Cherryville Library Branch

Dallas Library Branch Collection

Gastonia Main Branch Collection

Lowell Library Branch Collection

Mount Holly Library Branch Collection

Union Road Library Branch Collection

History

• Dedication and Formal Opening of the Gaston County Public Library. A program announcing the 1979 dedication and formal opening of the Gaston County Public Library. Dated: February 25, 1979
• Historical facts about Gaston County Public Library (Transforming the Tar Heel State: The Legacy of Public Libraries in North Carolina)
• Gaston County Public Library History (LibGuide) View a chronology of events in the history of the Gaston County Public Library.
  Go To: https://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/gaston-county-library-history
• "timely topics" Vol. I No. 12, July 20, 1954. The Citizens National Bank, Gastonia, N.C. "Gaston County's Growing Public Library" article with photograph of building. (History of library).
• "timely topics" Vol. II No. 6, January 15, 1955. The Citizens National Bank, Gastonia, N.C. "50th Anniversary of Library..." p.4.
• Quick Focus On Gaston County Art & Culture: Myles Andrew Julius Rhynes: Gaston County Poet, Minister, and Librarian

Maps

• Map of Libraries in Gaston County. ca. 1950s. Gaston County highway map with hand-drawn annotations showing the locations of branch libraries, book stations, book stops, and school.

Photographs (Buildings)

• Gastonia Library at the YMCA. Interior photograph of the library in Gastonia, NC when it was located in the YMCA. (1931)
• View of Gastonia Public Library and Memorial Hall. Black and white photo of Gastonia public library, unidentified church, and a brick building.
• Entrance of the Gaston County Public Library North Carolina Collection May 11 2001
• Gastonia Public Library exterior from the front right
• Interior of the Gaston County Public Library. 115 West Second Avenue. circa 1977.
• Exterior of the Gaston County Public Library 1555 E. Garrison Blvd. (2001-11-05)
• Interior of the North Carolina Collection at the Gaston County Public Library (East Side) May 11 2001
• Interior of the North Carolina Collection at the Gaston County Public Library (West Side) May 11 2001
• Reprint of "The New York Herald" on display in the North Carolina Room announcing the death of President Lincoln
• Some early Gaston County Library account books and photographs on exhibit in the North Carolina Room
• Gastonia Public Library. Children's room April 1960
• Gastonia Public Library. Processing area April 1960
• Gastonia Public Library. Processing room April 1960
• Gastonia Public Library. Card catalogs April 1960
• Gastonia Public Library, entrance doorway April 1960
• Gastonia Public Library. Main reading room April 1960
• Gastonia Public Library. Atkins Auditorium, view of seats and pictures on the side wall April 1960
• Gastonia Public Library. Atkins Auditorium, looking toward the stage April 1960
• Gastonia Public Library. Reference corner April 1960
• Gaston County Public Library. Firestone Mill Club House

Dallas Branch

• Gaston County Library, Dallas Branch (exterior) 1961
• Gaston County Library, Dallas Branch. Periodical and reading area 1961
• Gaston County Library, Dallas Branch. Study area 1961
• Gaston County Library, Dallas Branch. Children's corner 1961
• Gaston County Library, Dallas Branch (interior) 1961

Photographs (Bookmobiles)

• Gaston County Bookmobile, Gastonia, Gaston County, North Carolina. [between 1935 and 1938] Carnegie Survey of the Architecture of the South, Library of Congress. (1st version)
• Gaston County Bookmobile, Gastonia, Gaston County, North Carolina digital file from original negative [between 1935 and 1938] Carnegie Survey of the Architecture of the South, Library of Congress. (2nd version)
• Gastonia Public Library bookmobile April 1960
• Gaston County Public Library bookmobile at Mill Community Club House stop
• Gaston County Public Library bookmobile at African American
• Gaston County Public Library bookmobile. Negro book station
• Gaston County Public Library Bookmobile  Bookmobile nicknamed "Parnassus"  1937.

Photographs (Gaston County Public Library Digital History Collection)

• Betty Taylor Ellis Reference Librarian  Gaston County Public Library, 115 West Second Avenue. circa 1977
• Betty Taylor Ellis, Reference Librarian, Gaston County Public Library, 115 West Second Avenue. circa 1977
• Betty Taylor Ellis, Reference Librarian, at card catalog. Gaston County Public Library, 115 West Second Avenue. circa 1977
• Betty Taylor Ellis, Reference Librarian, helping patron use audio player. Gaston County Public Library, 115 West Second Avenue
• Libby Toler, Circulation Clerk. Gaston County Public Library, 115 West Second Avenue. circa 1977
• Library patron using Card Catalog. Gaston County Public Library, 115 West Second Avenue. circa 1977
• Library patron using Microfilm Reader. Gaston County Public Library, 115 West Second Avenue. circa 1977
• Ann Ferguson, Circulation Clerk, performing voter registration at Gaston County Public Library. circa 1977
• Library patron searching books at Gaston County Public Library. circa 1977
• Betty Taylor Ellis, with patron using Readers Guide to Periodical Literature Gaston County Public Library, 115 West Second Avenue.
• Library patron reading books  Gaston County Public Library, 115 West Second Avenue. circa 1977
• Library patron reading paperbacks  Gaston County Public Library, 115 West Second Avenue. circa 1977
• Joan Sheriff, Young Adult Librarian  Gaston County Public Library, 115 West Second Avenue. circa 1977

Postcards

• Community Center of Gastonia. This view contains pictures of Gastonia Public Library, Memorial Hall for use of veterans of all wars, and Women's Club Building, located on Second Avenue.
• The Beginning of Gaston Library. Pastel and ink sketch by Margaret McConnell Holt of Gastonia's first lending library in Dr. D. E. McConnell's dentist office abt. 1900.

• From Old To New. Mount Holly Library Branch Scrapbook. (1989)
• Mount Holly Library Scrapbook Read All About It. (1989)
•  Union Road Library Scrapbook. by Union Road Library staff and community members, June 4, 2000.

• Gaston County Public Library: Community Resource. A Presentation of Gaston County Public Library. 11 Minutes. c1997.
  Promotional Video on Library for Gaston County Board of Commissioners.
  Narrator: Bob Bigger. Still Photos: Carol Reinhardt. Video Camera: Rene Crump, Marty Wilson. Music Licensed Through The Music Bakery.
  Special Thanks to Library Patrons:
  Elizabeth Alexander, Mary Hopkins Allison, TurnerAllison, Charles Browning, Jr., Shirley & Caroline Cox, Leanne Dow, BrandonDuncan, Fran Farlow, Mya Love, Chris McGee, Kelly McHugh, Rev. Keith Miller,Elizabeth Newkerk & Cameron, Margarita O’Brien, Julia Perry, Lila Rankin,Logan Rhyne, Shelby & Jordan Rhyne, Michael Rosenberg, Terry Waldrop, SarahWallace.
• Quick Focus On Gaston County Art & Culture: Myles Andrew Julius Rhynes: Gaston County Poet, Minister, and Librarian

URL: https://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/digital-gaston-county/library
Revised: November 9, 2022