HeritageQuest is a free genealogy database available through NCLive.org. It can be accessed from any internet-enabled device with a current library card number.
Go to: https://www.nclive.org/cgi-bin/nclsm?rsrc=218
The resources available in HeritageQuest include the following:
- Actual images of the 1790 – 1940 population census schedules.
- Indexes for the censuses:
- Note: 1790, 1800, 1810, 1820, 1830, 1840 – These censuses gave only the names of the heads of households.
- Note: 1890 – Most of this census was lost in a fire. HeritageQuest indexes every name on the few pages that remain.
- Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920: view your state to see how counties changed over time.
- A collection of over 28,000 books of local history, genealogy, and U.S. City Directories with full-page images.
- Click “Publications” to look for a specific book.
- Click “Search” to look for a name within the Books collection.
- Revolutionary War pension records from the National Archives.
- Records of the Freedman’s Bank (1865 – 1874).
- US Congressional Serial Set, selected Congressional documents, 1789 – 1969: pensions, private relief actions, memorials, and petitions.
- U.S., Social Security Death Index, 1935-2014 contains over 94 million records of deceased persons with social security numbers.
Tips for Searching HeritageQuest
- Searches are NOT case sensitive: you can type names entirely in lowercase (ignoring capitalization) and it will not affect your search results.
- Each section has its own search screen. Follow the directions and examples for each one.
- The Census
- To read the Census frame by frame (just like reading the microfilm), use the Browse form on the right-hand side.
- To search the census indexes, click Search.
- Books
- When searching the Books section for a particular title, don’t use “A”, “An”, or “The” at the beginning of the title.
- Example: “Hamilton Family” NOT “The Hamilton Family”.
- Freedman’s Bank
- Lists account holders of all races, not just African Americans.
- Indexes include the names of all family members mentioned, not just the account holder.
- Searches have an option for Soundex (this is the only Soundex index in HeritageQuest).
- US Serial Set
- Use a place name or keyword to narrow a search.
- You can search for a place name or keyword alone, or in combination.
- Example: “North Carolina” + “textile".
Author: Gaston County Public Library
Title: HeritageQuest FAQS
URL: http://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/heritagequest/heritagequest-faqs
Revised: 3 January 2017