LibGuides: Maps: Topographic

U.S. Geological Survey Topographic Maps

U.S. Geological Survey Topographic Maps are general-use maps at medium scales that present elevation (contour lines), hydrography, geographic place names, and a variety of cultural features. Includes current-generation and historic maps.

Go to: https://ngmdb.usgs.gov/topoview/viewer/#4/39.98/-100.06

Go to: https://store.usgs.gov/filter-products?country=US&sort=old_first&page=1

Gastonia 1914, 1914 (1954), 1916, 1916 (1943), 1970, 1986, 1991, 1993, 2002
Belmont 1973, 1993, 1997
Bessemer City 1973, 1976, 1993, 2002
Cherryville 1973, 1976, 2002.
Mount Holly 1970, 1993

NC DEQ: Topographic Maps for the State of North Carolina

The North Carolina Geological Survey Topographic Maps website provides information about USGS topographic quadrangle maps for the state of North Carolina that are available through the N.C. Geological Survey.

Go to: https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/energy-mineral-land-resources/north-carolina-geological-survey/Topograhic-maps

Gaston County Topographic Maps

Gaston County North Carolina Topographic Maps can be viewed by clicking on the interactive map or searching for maps by place name and feature type.
Go to: http://www.topozone.com/north-carolina/gaston-nc/
North Carolina Historical Topographic Map, Gastonia Quadrangle Surveyed 1914 1:62,500 (5.2MB) published by the U.S. Geological Survey and part of the Perry-Castañeda Map Collection, University of Texas Libraries.

U.S. Geological Survey Historical Topographic Maps

USGS Historical Topographic Map Explorer Search a collection of more than 170,000 USGS topographic maps that date from 1884 to 2006. Historic maps can overlay on current map and can be downloaded as GeoPDFs.

Go to: http://historicalmaps.arcgis.com/usgs/

North Carolina Historical Topographic Maps - Perry-Castañeda Map Collection

Perry-Castañeda Map Collection, University of Texas Libraries

All maps on this page were published by the U.S. Geological Survey and are in the public domain. The date given for each map is the date of latest survey.

Go to: www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/topo/north_carolina/
Includes Gastonia Quadrangle, Surveyed 1914. (Edition of 1916)

Historic Digital NC Topographic Maps - NC State University

Historic Digital NC Topographic Maps provides maps with valuable historical information about landscape features from the past. Map dates range from the late 1800s to the 1960s. In order to view the images, you will need to download a free viewer or software capable of viewing JPEG2000 images. See website for known free applications.

Go to: http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/gis/historictopos.html

Topographical Maps of South Carolina, 1888-1975

Topographical Maps of South Carolina, 1888-1975. Measuring 14 ½ x 20 inches, these Polyconic Projections were first published in the late 19th Century. Some were produced by the Army, others by the Corps. of Engineers and the remainder were produced by the United States Geological Survey (USGS). The scale is 1:62500. Go to: https://digital.library.sc.edu/collections/topographical-maps-of-south-carolina-1888-1975/