"December 2020 update: the HPO has entered an agreement with the State Archives to make these reports available through the North Carolina Digital Collections. Until all of the reports are scanned and added to the collection, we will maintain the list and links found below."
North Carolina Architectural Survey Reports includes Gaston County African American Resources Survey, 2000
Go to: https://www.ncdcr.gov/about/history/division-historical-resources/nc-state-historic-preservation-office/architectural-6
From the files of Hugh E. White, architect, Gastonia, N. C. [Gastonia]: [s.n.], 1936. Booklet showing a few of the buildings erected from plans by Hugh E. White, of Gastonia, North Carolina.
The North Carolina Architects & Builders website has a biographical dictionary of architects and builders who have produced North Carolina's architecture for more than 300 years. You can search by name, building, work locations, trades, and years active.
Includes the biography of Hugh Edward White (June 27, 1869- June 25, 1939) who became the leading architect in Gastonia, N.C.
National register multiple property documentation form: Architecture of Hugh Edward White and White, Streeter, and Chamberlain, 1921-1939, Gaston County, North Carolina. by Davyd Foard Hood, 14 February 1999. Also available here.
Vintage Architectural Art is a website designed to promote the preservation and appreciation of intact collections of old architectural drawings, etchings, and engravings, and made available to an appreciating public. The collections are from the archives of Hugh E. White, Sr., architect (1898-1939) and preserved by subsequent family generations."
Go to: http://www.vintagearchitecturalart.com/about.htm
Architectural drawings and Design and construction documents:
Gaston County Public Library Digital History Collection has an Architecture Collection of photographs and documents.
Gaston County Architectural Heritage Driving Tour. Gaston County Historic Preservation Commission (Gastonia, N.C.) A pictorial tour and guide through the historic architectural buildings and homes throughout Gaston County. 1982?
Author: Gaston County Public Library
Title: Digital Gaston County: Architecture
Revised: 29 December 2020
©Copyright 2021, Gaston County Public Library. All Rights Reserved.