Civil War

051 NOR NCC. North Carolina Historical Review.

• “The Road to Gettysburg: The Diary and Letters of Leonidas Torrence of the Gaston Guards” by Leonidas Torrence (Ed. by Haskell Monroe). North Carolina Historical Review. Vol. 36 (1959). Pgs. 476 – 517.
  Letters from Leonidas Torrence, a member of the “Gaston Guards”, Co. H., 23rd North Carolina Regiment. This regiment was previously Co. H., 13th North Carolina Regiment.

929.1 ESW NCC. Eswau Huppeday.

• “Bounty Payments for Co. M, 16th Regiment – Gaston Co.” Eswau Huppeday. Vol. 14, No. 3 (August 1994). Pgs. 181 – 190.
  Includes payroll lists, letters, etc. of Gaston County Confederate soldiers.
• “Co. B, 28th Regiment Miscellaneous Records ‘The Gaston Invincibles’ ”. Eswau Huppeday. Vol. 24, No. 1 (February 2004). Pgs. 34 – 46.
  Includes discharge letters and bounty records.
• “Confederate Record of S. S. Guardmen from the Gastonia Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy.” Eswau Huppeday.
  Split between four issues:
  • Vol. 15, No. 3 (August 1995). Pgs. 161 – 170.
  • Vol. 15, No. 4 (November 1995). Pgs. 223 – 235.
  • Vol. 16, No. 1 (February 1996). Pgs. 18 – 24.
  • Vol. 16, No. 2 (May 1996). Pgs. 79 – 84.
  These all include records of questions answered by former Confederate soldiers from Gaston and Lincoln County.
• “Gaston County Pension Letters” by Heather Wright Robbins. Eswau Huppeday.
  Split between two issues:
  • Vol. 27, No. 3 (August 2007). Pgs. 140 – 151.
  • Vol. 27, No. 4 (November 2007). Pgs. 207 – 220.
  Articles include an index of names and several reproductions of letters related to pensions for Confederate soldiers from Gaston County.
• “Lincoln County Civil War Pensioners 1885 – 1901” by Virginia Graham DePriest. Eswau Huppeday. Vol. 4, No. 4 (November 1984). Pgs. 275 – 281.
  Alphabetical list of names.
• “Lincoln County Pension Letters” by Heather Wright Robbins. Eswau Huppeday. Vol. 28, No. 3 (August 2008). Pgs. 119 – 132.
  Articles include an index of names and several reproductions of letters related to pensions for Confederate soldiers from Lincoln County.
• “North Carolina Soldiers 1861 – 1865: Where Did They Come From?” Eswau Huppeday. Vol. 29, No. 3 (August 2009). Pgs. 149 – 171.
  List of regiments, companies, and nicknames of regiments.
• Two articles that list soldiers who received artificial limbs from the state of North Carolina after the war:
  • “Maimed Confederate Veterans.” Eswau Huppeday. Vol. 9, No. 4 (November 1989). Pg. 253.
  • “Update to ‘Maimed Confederate Veterans’” by Kenneth Spears. Eswau Huppeday. Vol. 10, No. 2 (May 1990). Pgs. 93 – 94.

929.1 FOO NCC. Footprints in Time.

• “Appomattox, April 12, 1865” by Len Blemmer. Footprints in Time. (June 2009). Pgs. 59 – 61.
  Twenty three members of the “Gaston Rangers”, Co. H., 49th North Carolina Regiment, paroled at Appomattox.

The Gaston Gazette [Microfilm]. Available at the Reference Desk of the Gastonia Main Library.

• "Co. M., 16th North Carolina Regiment" by Robert Ragan. November 25, 2001 – December 30, 2001
• “Gaston Guards, Co. H., 23rd North Carolina Regiment” by Robert Ragan. January 6, 2002 – February 3, 2002.
• “Gaston Invincibles, Co. B., 28th North Carolina Regiment” by Robert Ragan. February 10, 2002 – March 17, 2002.
• “Gaston Blues, Co. H., 37th North Carolina Regiment” by Robert Ragan. March 24, 2002 – June 9, 2002.
• “Junior Reserves” by Robert Ragan. August 4, 2002 – September 15, 2002.
• Index of Local History Articles by Robert Ragan

• 362.86 WEG NCC. Phantom Pain: North Carolina’s Artificial-Limbs Program for Confederate Veterans.
  This volume includes maimed veterans listed in the Eswau Huppeday articles, as well as soldiers throughout North Carolina.
• 975.6 CAR. Gaston County, North Carolina, in the Civil War, by Robert C. Carpenter. Includes Gaston County Tax List of 1863.
• 973.7 BLA NCC. Black Southerners in Gray.
  Includes the essay “Black Confederates in Lincoln County, North Carolina” by Rudolph Young.
• 973.7 HAR NC. Remembering North Carolina’s Confederates by Michael C. Hardy.
  Includes photographs of veterans and monuments in the Piedmont, including Gaston County.
• 973.7 HAR NCC. The Thirty-Seventh North Carolina Troops: Tar Heels in the Army of Northern Virginia by Michael C. Hardy.
  Includes information about the “Gaston Blues”, Co. H., 37th North Carolina Regiment.
• 973.7025 LES NCC. Lest We Forget! A Civil War Roster for Lincoln County, North Carolina.
• 973.781 LIN NCC. Letters of a Gaston Ranger by James Wellington Lineberger (Ed. by Hugh Douglas Pitts).
  Includes personal letters by 2nd Lt. James Wellington Lineberger of the “Gaston Rangers”, Co. H., 49th North Carolina Regiment.

• Library Research Guides
  Go to: http://gastonlibrary.org/index.cfm/research/genealogy-local-history/
  • Confederate Companies: Gaston & Lincoln County
  • Gaston - Lincoln Biography & History Index
  • Finding Civil War Soldiers

Pensions:

• 1885 and 1901 Confederate Pension Applications for North Carolina. Images searchable by name.
  Go to: https://digital.ncdcr.gov/spotlights/confederate-pension-applications
• 1899 List of Confederate Pensioners, Lincoln County, NC
  Go to: http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.com/~judytalk/LincolnPension.htm
• 1901 List of Confederate Pensioners, Lincoln County, NC
  Go to: http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.com/~judytalk/LincolnPension2.htm
• Lincoln Co., North Carolina pension records, 1885-1894, 1901-1907.
  Go to: https://www.familysearch.org/search/catalog/1283294

Rosters:

• Roster of Confederate Soldiers in the War Between the States Furnished by Lincoln County, North Carolina, 1861 – 1865. [Digitized version of original publication.]
  Go to: https://www.archive.org/details/rosterofconfeder00unit
• Confederate Soldiers from Lincoln County. [PDF version of the “Roster of Confederate Soldiers […]”]
  Go to: http://www.lincolncountyhistory.com/newsletter/0909/Roster_civil_war_09.pdf
• Lincoln County Civil War Records 1864-1923. Includes Civil War - Morning Reports Co. "A", 34th Reg. (Starts on IMAGE 787); Civil War - Muster & pay rolls Co. "A", 34th Reg. (Starts on IMAGE 890 and 1576); Civil War - Aid to soldier's wives and widows. (Starts on IMAGE 1086).

Author: Gaston County Public Library
Title: Finding Civil War Soldiers: Gaston and Lincoln Counties
URL: http://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/civil-war/finding-civil-war-soldiers-gaston-lincoln
Revised: 11 July 2023