Finding Free eBooks & eAudiobooks

In the catalog, eBooks are labelled "INTERNET". Clicking "Place a Hold" will direct you to sign in with the eBook provider. You can also search directly within the databases by going to gastonlibrary.org and selecting "Virtual Library & Learning". http://gastonlibrary.org/virtual-library-learning/

The North Carolina Digital Library (NCDL) provides downloadable eBooks and eAudiobooks for patrons of the Gaston County Public Library. Libby is NCDL's app; but most NCDL ebooks can also be borrowed in Kindle and Nook formats. Library card required.

NC Kids Digital Library is a database provided by Overdrive devoted to children's literature. Library card required.

NC Live provides primarily read-only in your browser eBooks. Library card required.

• ABC-CLIO eBook Collection provides history and literature titles, including a large collection of American slave narratives.
• Gale Virtual Reference Library contains encyclopedias and reference books.
• Learning Express Library: Select a Learning Center to discover practice tests and eBooks on that subject.
• HeritageQuest includes over 28,000 local history and genealogy titles. Read and search online or download up to 50 pages.
• CQ Researcher provides reports on current affairs. Downloadable.

The Open Library is an eBook lending library created from the donations of libraries from all over the world -- including Gaston County Public Library!

Freading is a free eBook service from your library. Library card required.

hoopla is a free service from your library that includes eBooks, movies, and more. Can be paired with an Alexa for ease of access. Library card required.

• Kobo Free eBooks (requires Kobo device or app).
  Go to: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/p/free-ebooks
• Free Nook Books (requires Nook device or app).
  Go to: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/b/free-ebooks/ebooks-nook/_/N-ry0Z8qa
• Baen Free Library provides a small selection of downloadable science fiction and fantasy titles that they publish digitally.
  Go to: https://www.baen.com/catalog/category/view/s/free-library/id/2012
• Documenting the American South has read-only in your browser early North Carolina history and literature.
  Go to: https://docsouth.unc.edu/index.html

If you need assistance with library eBooks, please contact our Computer & Digital Services Help Desk at 704-868-2164, ext. 5537 or help@gastonlibrary.org

Help Files North Carolina Digital Library (NCDL)

• Getting started, https://help.overdrive.com/en-us/home.htm
• or for devices, https://help.overdrive.com/en-us/devices.htm