Gold Mining in North Carolina

This is a Full-Text PDF of the 1948 print edition which covers Alabama, Georgia, North Carolina, and South Carolina. It also includes digital scans of 43 "in pocket" plate illustrations as PDFs.
Page 74 (Image 97) Gaston County Mine Descriptions: Caledonia Mine (Crowders Mountain); Kings Mountain; Long Creek; and Patterson.
Page 62 (Image 85) North Carolina gold localities for Gaston County.

“This document contains an overview of the Carolina gold mining industry that discusses its historic development and significance. Also included is a description of procedures used for mining and handling gold ore in the Carolinas.” (PDF)

Raleigh, NC: Dept. of Environment, Health, and Natural Resources, Division of Land Resources.

Gold in North Carolina is a 1990 brochure providing history of Gold in North Carolina; How to Identify Gold; and Information Available from the North Carolina Geological Survey.

This report is a compilation of information on the metal mines of the slate belt in North Carolina. Each mine description includes a detailed location, history, and condition of the deposit. Mines are organized by county. (PDF)
See "Maps Online" for companion map.

Optically scanned North Carolina Geological Survey Bulletins.

This is a one sheet prospectus for the mining company. Includes a report by E. Emmons on the Rhea property and the Catha farm which make up the mining company's land.

This is an advertisement of the Vanderburg Mining Company in Cabarrus County, NC.

Includes description of Gold Hill Mine, Rowan County, NC.

This report covers a geological investigation of the Cid mining
region and is a continuation of the study of the geological formations
of Piedmont North Carolina.

Using personal correspondence, geological surveys, travelers’ accounts, and tools and methodologies borrowed from other studies of mineral extraction, this thesis argues that gold mining in North Carolina was an important aspect of southern antebellum industry.

North Carolina Geological Survey, Economic Papers. Includes section on Production of Gold and Silver in North Carolina. (covering various years between 1900-1967). Subject: Mineral industries--North Carolina

Raleigh : N.C. Geological and Economic Survey, 1914

Issued 1900-05 by Geological Survey; 1906-18/23 by Geological and Economic Survey; 1924/25-29/36 by Dept. of Conservation and Development.

Raleigh : Edwards & Broughton, State printers and binders, 1911.

Raleigh : N.C. Dept. of Conservation and Development, 1937.

New York: George P. Putnam & Co., 1856. Illustrated with Engravings. See "Maps Online" for larger version of Map of Gold Hill & Vicinity (Plate 9).

This North Carolina Geological and Economic Survey, Bulletin No. 21, published in 1910, contains geography, history, and maps of the Gold Hill Mining District.
See "Maps Online" for Gold Hill Mining District map (Plate 3), which does not appear in this online version of Bulletin 21.

Records of one or more Rowan County, N.C., mining firms, including the Gold Hill Mining Company, the Gold Hill Consolidated Company, A. H. Almay and Company, and the Rowan Mining Corporation. The relationships between the firms is unknown. The volumes contain information on general mining operations, transactions of the Gold Hill Mining Company store, costs of operations, and wages. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Library. Southern Historical Collection.

Day books, receipt books, and general record books of the Gold Hill Mining Company of Gold Hill North Carolina, covering primarily the 1850s, although there is one boof for 1910-1915. Arrived at Rowan Public Library prior to 1988.

Past Producer in Cleveland county in North Carolina, United States with commodities Gold, Copper, Lead, Silver, Zinc, Arsenic, Antimony, Bismuth, Molybdenum, Tellurium

A gold mine. Explored by the Texas Gulf Sulfur Corp. in 1985.

By Philip J. Bradley. North Carolina Geological Survey, Raleigh, NC. Completed October 2015.

"The McCulloch Gold Mill is significant to the history of the gold mining and processing in nineteenth century North Carolina as the only known example of an antebellum gold mill engine house in the state. It was built in 1832 by Charles McCulloch, an entrepreneur from South Carolina." (PDF)

Nomination form to approve the Reed Gold Mine property as a National Historic Landmark. Form provides physical appearance description and historical background. (PDF)

Gold mines and mining--Study and teaching (Elementary)--North Carolina.
Grades K-5

Published in Economic Geology, v. 102, pp. 239–256 (2007 version). "The Russell mine, one of the larger producers in North Carolina, is located in the central Uwharrie Mountains, and produced over 470 kg of gold." Located in northern Montgomery County. (PDF)

Church was built in 1843 for Irish immigrant gold miners and was the fourth Catholic church built in North Carolina. St. Joseph's is the oldest standing Catholic Church in the state. This 1989 proposal includes historical sketch of the church.