Skip to Main Content

Lincoln Academy, Kings Mountain, N.C. 1888 - 1955

Lincoln Academy

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools: Correspondence and Reports. These files contain correspondence and reports pertaining to the work of the Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools for Negroes to assist African American secondary schools in receiving Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools approval.
    Includes Highland High School and Lincoln Academy

Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools: Highland High School, Gastonia, North Carolina. 1944-1951
Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools: Correspondence, Reports - Evaluation 1944 (Lincoln Academy image 27, 49, 54, 74, 76);
Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools: Correspondence, Memorandums 1944 (Lincoln Academy image 2);
Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools: Reports 1945;
Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools: Reports 1946;
Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools: Correspondence, Memorandums, Reports, etc. on Evaluation 1947 (Lincoln Academy image 28, 35);
Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools: Reports from Member Schools of Southern Association 1949 (Lincoln Academy image 57);
Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools: Program, Reports 1951 (Lincoln Academy image 7, 10);
Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools: Lincoln Academy, Kings Mountain, North Carolina 1944, 1951;
Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools: Correspondence, Program 1952 (Lincoln Academy image 10, 30, 32, 33, 35);
Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools: Correspondence, Recommendations 1953 (Lincoln Academy image 19);
Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools: Reports, High School 1956;

 

  • Lincoln Academy collection, 1915-1957 | Amistad Research Center. Scope and Contents: Includes photocopied correspondence, greeting cards, a photograph, and invitations pertaining to Lincoln Academy in Kings Mountain, North Carolina. Correspondence is largely from Walter Ricks to his then-fiance, Launard Ricks. Also included is a 1929 photograph of the family of Walter Edward Ricks. The collection also includes a hand script journal of reminiscences of Lincoln Academy and rural life in that area by Eula Wellmon Dunlap, which includes descriptions of medical remedies in the family. Go to:  https://amistad-finding-aids.tulane.edu/repositories/2/resources/451
  • American Missionary Association archives addenda, 1849-1991 | Amistad Research Center The 1969 addendum and later addenda to the American Missionary Association archives are mostly twentieth century in scope, covering two main subject areas. The first is the association's numerous schools. These are considered "field" records, or, the fruits of the Association's missionary work outside of its New York City office.  The Addendum is divided into three series: Series 1 covers field-related work, mainly the AMA schools; Series 2 covers projects that were run directly form the New York City headquarters, as well as documents both generated and collected by that office; Series 3 is oversized, bound financial ledgers from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Go to: https://amistad-finding-aids.tulane.edu/repositories/2/resources/81

Emily C. Prudden

Guide to the Emily C. Prudden Collection 1840-1996 Collection Number Mss 19971 G.A. Pfeiffer Library, Mary Fisher Floyd Archives & Special Collections.
"Abstract: The Emily C. Prudden Collection documents the life, career, and posthumous recognition of the founder of Pfeiffer University...."
Go to: https://library.pfeiffer.edu/c.php?g=1024231&p=7437470

┬ęCopyright 2021, Gaston County Public Library. All Rights Reserved.