Finding Soldiers of "Other Wars"

Register of Enlistments in the US Army, 1798 – 1914.

National Archives Microfilm Publication M233 (81 rolls) contains a register of enlistments in the US Regular Army from 1798 – 1914. Data in these registers was compiled from a variety of other military records, including enlistment papers, muster rolls, and unit records. The records are usually one line extending across two scanned pages.

The Regular Army is comprised of career soldiers and maintained through peacetime. Therefore, this register will not usually include individuals who enlisted as part of a reserve or during wartime for limited periods of time, or in a military unit raised by a state. (When researching volunteers, start with the compiled military service records.)

• United States, Registers of Enlistments in the U. S. Army, 1798 - 1914
  Go to: https://familysearch.org/search/collection/1880762

• “Army Register of Enlistments, 1798-1914" and U.S. Army Registers, 1798-1969 (officers)
  Go to: https://fold3library.proquest.com/barcode?accountid=11047 Log into Fold3 with your library card.

• "U.S. Army, Register of Enlistments, 1798-1914" in Ancestry Library Edition. (available in all library branches).
• Heitman's Register and Dictionary of the US Army Alphabetical lists of officers who served in the United States Army from 1789 to 1903, with supporting charts, tables, and military history.
  Go to: https://fold3library.proquest.com/barcode?accountid=11047 Log into Fold3 with your library card.
  Also available in print: 355 HEI N.C.C. Historical register and dictionary of the United States Army, from its organization September 29, 1789 to March 2, 1903.

The National Archives

Military records from 1917 - present are held in the: National Military Personnel Records Center St. Louis, Missouri.

Military personnel records are a valuable tool in genealogical research. Most veterans and their next-of-kin can obtain free copies of their DD Form 214 (Report of Separation) and other military and medical records. Limited information is releasable to the general public without the consent of the veteran or the next-of-kin. You are considered a member of the general public if you are asking about a veteran who is no relation to you, or a veteran who is a relative but you are not the next-of-kin. Next-of-kin is defined as the unremarried widow or widower, son or daughter, father or mother, brother or sister of the deceased veteran.

• Start Your Military Service Record Request (DD Form 214 & SF-180)
  Go to: http://www.archives.gov/veterans/military-service-records/
• Military discharge records and index, 1922-1962, Gaston County, North Carolina (Index and images)
  Go to: https://www.familysearch.org/search/catalog/300125

Databases

The Ancestry Library Edition (only available in all Gaston County library branches) includes a number of databases relating to the War of 1812, Mexican War, Spanish-American War, Korean War, and Vietnam War.

Fold3 (available from home and in all library branches) includes US military records, stories, photos, and personal documents of those who served.
Go to: https://fold3library.proquest.com/barcode?accountid=11047 Log into Fold3 with your library card.

FamilySearch.org (available online for free) includes United States nationwide military databases and collections.
Go to: Familysearch.org

Other Resources

• 016.355 CON NCC. United States Army Unit and Organizational Histories: A Bibliography by James T. Controvich.
  • Vol. 1: Pre-World War I
  • Vol. 2: World War I to present.
• 353.97 C N.C.C. American militia in the frontier wars, 1790-1796, by Murtie June Clark.
• 355.6 UNI NCC. Military Service Records: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications (pub. 1985) by US National Archives and Records Administration.
• 359.3 LIS NCC List of officers of the Navy of the United States and of the Marine Corps from 1775 to 1900; comprising a complete register of all present and former commissioned, warranted, and appointed officers of the United States Navy and of the Marine Corps, regular and volunteer.
• 929.81 REC NCC OVER. Recipients of Military Service Awards 1898-2004, North Carolina Division, United Daughters of the Confederacy. Includes the Spanish-American, World War I, World War II, Korean, Vietnam, and Persian Gulf.
• 975.677 GAS NCC v. 1. "Gaston County's Military Heritage." Gaston County Heritage, Vol. 1 by John E. Ferguson Misenheimer. Pgs. 290 - 294.
• Search our Gaston - Lincoln Biography & History Index for names of individual soldiers.
  Go to: http://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/biography_index
• United States, Muster Rolls of the Marine Corps, 1798 - 1892
  Go to: https://familysearch.org/search/collection/1916228
• Cyndi’s List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet:
  • Historical Military Conflicts, Events or Wars
    Go to: http://www.cyndislist.com/us/military/historical/
  • Records: Military, Pension, Burial
    Go to: http://www.cyndislist.com/us/military/records/

Author: Gaston County Public Library
Title: Finding Soldiers of Other Wars: War of 1812, Mexican War, Spanish-American War, Korean War, Vietnam War
URL: http://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/finding-soldiers-of-other-wars
Revised: 9 October 2018