Miscellaneous Timelines
The Illustrated Timeline of Art History by Call Number: 702.02 STRISBN: 9781402736032Publication Date: 2006
Rock and Roll Year by Year by Call Number: R781.66 CRAISBN: 0789496496Publication Date: 2003-09-29The first section covers 1950-1954; beginning in 1955 there is an entry for each year through 2002.- Variety music cavalcade 1620-1961 byCall Number: R781.97 MPublication Date: [1962]A chronology of vocal and instrumental music popular in the United States.
The Timetables of Jewish History by Call Number: R909. 04924 GRIISBN: 0671640070Publication Date: 1993-05-01
An Illustrated Timeline of U. S. Presidents by Call Number: j973.09 ENGISBN: 9781404871618Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Cinema Year by Year, 1894-2006 by Call Number: 791.43 CINISBN: 9780756622596Publication Date: 2006-08-21Non-circulating
On the Lighter Side
Did you ever wonder what it would cost to purchase all the gifts in "The 12 Days of Christmas"? What kind of career you might have had in 55 BCE? What Shakespeare's English really sounded like?
- TOTAL CHRISTMAS PRICE INDEX
For more than 30 years, PNC has calculated the prices of the twelve gifts from the classic carol "The Twelve Days of Christmas." The result is the PNC Christmas Price Index, a unique and whimsical holiday tradition that makes learning about the economy fun.
The Oxford Dictionary of Original Shakespearean Pronunciation by Call Number: 822.33 CRYISBN: 9780199668427Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Uppity Women of Ancient Times by Call Number: 305 .409 01 LEOISBN: 1567312497Publication Date: 1998-05-01
100 Cats Who Changed Civilization [Downloadable EBOOK] by Call Number: INTERNET (OverDrive)ISBN: 9781594745881Publication Date: 2011
Ancient Rome on Five Denarii a Day by Call Number: 937 MATISBN: 9780500051474Publication Date: 2007-06-01
From the Big Bang to Alexander the Great by Call Number: 902.07 GONISBN: 0385265204Publication Date: 1997-09-103 volumes.
- The Food Timelinecreated by Lynne Olver (1958-2015), a reference librarian with a passion for food history. The website is now hosted by Virginia Tech University Libraries and the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences. Go to: https://www.foodtimeline.org/
Librarian
General
Are you creating a timeline as a history assignment, as a family history page, or for a family birthday or anniversary? Here are some helpful books and websites that contain thousands of dates to help you with your project.
You can find even more books than those listed below by searching our Catalog by Subject for Chronology.
World History
History Year by Year by Call Number: 909 CHRISBN: 9781465414182Publication Date: 2013-08-19History Year by Year: The History of the World, From the Stone Age to the Digital Age.
North Carolina
- Chronology and Documentary Handbook of the State of North Carolina byCall Number: 975.6 C N.C.C.ISBN: 0379162583Publication Date: 1978
- On This Day in North Carolina byCall Number: R975.6 POW N.C.ISBN: 0895871394Publication Date: 1996-01-01North Carolina Collection, non-circulating.
American History
- Digital HistoryChronologies of American History, Antislavery, Immigration History, and more.
Go to: http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu/timelines/timelines.cfm
The Timeline of Native Americans: The Ultimate Guide to North America's Indigenous Peoples. by Call Number: 970.004 OBRISBN: 9781592238613Publication Date: 2008-11-18
Timelines of African-American History by Call Number: 973.049673 COWISBN: 0399521275Publication Date: 1994-09-011492 - 1993.
Famous First Facts by Call Number: R031.02 FAMISBN: 9781619254688Publication Date: 2015-04-30Ready Reference (non-circulating.) Indexed by years.- Landmark Legislation, 1774-2002 byCall Number: R348.73 STAISBN: 1568027818Publication Date: 2003-01-01Major U.S. acts and treaties arranged chronologically by Congress. Non-circulating.
The Depression Years by Call Number: R909.82 DEPISBN: 0405095465Publication Date: 1976-01-01Reproduces pages from The New York Times. Other titles in this series: Day by Day, the Forties; --, the Fifties; --, the Sixties; --, the Seventies (2 vols); --, the Eighties (2 vols); --, the Nineties (2 vols). Non-circulating
The American Years (2 volumes) by Call Number: R973.02 AMEISBN: 0684312549Publication Date: 1905-06-01Colonial era through 2002; index is in vol. 2.; non-circulating.
The Encyclopedia of American Facts and Dates by Call Number: R973.02 CAR 1997ISBN: 0062701924Publication Date: 1997-07-1610th century through 20th century. Non-circulating.
Science & Technology
Chronology of Science from Stonehenge to the Human Genome Project by Call Number: R502.02 CHRISBN: 1576079546Publication Date: 2002-06-22Non-circulating.
National Geographic Concise History of Science and Invention by Call Number: 509 CONISBN: 9781426205446Publication Date: 2009-10-27
What on Earth Happened? by Call Number: 900 LLOISBN: 9781596915831Publication Date: 2008-10-14The planet, life, and people from the Big Bang to the present day.
Money Values
- Prices and Wages by DecadeLinks to U. S. government documents listing retail prices for typical consumer purchases, and wages for common occupations. All data is for the United States unless specifically indicated. - Library Guides at University of Missouri Libraries
The Value of a Dollar, 1600-1865 by Call Number: R338.52 VALISBN: 9781592370948Publication Date: 2005-10-01"[This is] the first edition of The Value of a Dollar, 1600-1865. This book both parallels and compliments its popular older brother The Value of a Dollar, 1860-2004"--P. [i]. Non-circulating.
Includes bibliographical references (p. [437-442]) and index.
The Value of a Dollar by Call Number: R338.52 VALISBN: 1891482491Publication Date: 1999-02-01Includes bibliographical references (p. 492-493). Non-circulating.
Genealogy
- Ancestry.com Genealogy Toolkit for help creating a chronology
Go to: https://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2013/10/03/the-genealogists-toolkit/
History for Genealogists by Call Number: 929.1 JACISBN: 9780806354392Publication Date: 2009-06-01Seeing ancestors in historical context -- Creating a timeline -- Why did they leave? -- How did they go? -- Coming to America -- Myths, confusions, secrets and lies -- Even harder to find missing persons -- Social history and community genealogy -- State by state -- And region by region. Includes bibliographical references and index.- NGS magazine byCall Number: 929.1 NGS NCCPublication Date: c2000-Explains how genealogists use timelines. North Carolina Collection -- Periodicals. Quarterly.
- HeritageQuestTreasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more. Through NCLive. Access from home with library card.
Make Your Own
- How to Make a Timeline: Instructions on how to create your own timeline.
Go to: http://dohistory.org/on_your_own/toolkit/timeline.html - Timeline Generator: Select a custom date range to create a historical timeline of events listed in the Digital History database.
Go to: http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu/timelines/timelines.cfm - Make a Chronology: Select a subject and custom date range to create a historical chronology.
Go to: http://www.americancenturies.mass.edu/chronology/make_chronology.jsp
Citation
Author: Gaston County Public Library
Title: Timeline & Chronologies
URL: https://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/geography-history/timelines
Revised: 22 August 2022