Check It Out!
Complete Flags of the World by Call Number: 929.92 FLAISBN: 9781465419675Publication Date: 2014-05-19
National Anthems of the World by Call Number: R781.599 NAT (Reference Collection)ISBN: 0304349259Publication Date: 1997-12-31
Customs, Holidays, Food
Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary by Call Number: R394.26 HOL (Reference Collection)ISBN: 9780780809949Publication Date: 2009-12-29
- The Food Timeline"Ever wonder how the ancient Romans fed their armies?" Full citations provided for all materials quoted on the website.
- Asia Society - RecipesRecipe finder for Asian meals.
You can also search our catalog by Any Field for country name + food. Example: Mexico food
Librarian
Books @ Your Library
Search the Library Catalog for "The World Today Series"
The Statesman's Yearbook 2020 by Call Number: R317 STAISBN: 9781349959396Publication Date: 2019-09-06Political, economic, cultural and brief historical information on different countries. Kept at the Reference Desk at Gastonia Main.
The World Almanac and Book of Facts 2022 by Call Number: 317.3 WORISBN: 9781510766532Publication Date: 2021-11-30
Maps
The Library's most up-to-date world atlases are available in the Atlas Case next to the Reference Desk at the Main Branch.
- InfoPlease World MapsOnline maps, almanacs and encyclopedia listings for countries.
- NationsOnline: MapsPolitical and administrative maps of continents, countries and regions, as well as online resources of maps, map collections, reference maps, and world maps.
Embassies & Foreign Governments
- Official List of EmbassiesWebsites of U.S. Embassies, Consulates, Diplomatic Missions, and Offices Providing Consular Services. https://www.usembassy.gov/
- Foreign Embassies and Diplomats in the U.S.Wikipedia list.
- Embassy,orgLinks to Foreign Embassy Information and Websites.
- List of Foreign GovernmentsProvides links to the government websites of foreign countries. [Northwestern University Library]
Websites
- National AnthemsWikipedia list. Includes sound files.
- NGA GEOnet Names Server (GNS)The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names (US BGN).
- CIA World Fact BookCountry flags, birth/death rates, life expectancy, government information, etc. "Provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities."
- Country StudiesLibrary of Congress: "Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division."
Citations
Author: Gaston County Public Library
Title: Countries of the World
URL: https://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/geography-history/world_countries
Revised: 19 August 2022