Records on Microfilm

Microfilm copies of the following newspapers are in the North Carolina Collection at the Gastonia Main Library.

• Charlotte Observer, April 1, 1929 - September 30, 1929;
• Gaston Citizen, Oct 25, 1951 - Mar 21, 1956;
• Gastonia Gazette, 21 Feb 1880 - 1 Jan 1989 (minus some issues in the early years);
• Gaston Gazette, Feb 1989 - April 2019;
• Greensboro News (NC), March 1929 - October 1929;
• Wilmington Daily Herald (Wilmington Daily Journal), April 9, 1857 - July 14, 1866.

Guide to Newspapers on Microfilm in the North Carolina State Archives.
Go to: https://archives.ncdcr.gov/guide-newspapers-microfilm-0/open

Also search the North Carolina Newspaper Locator for newspaper microfilm by county, town, title, or date range housed at the N.C. Government & Heritage Library.
Go to: https://statelibrarync.org/newspaper/

Visit the Newspapers - Historical LibGuide for more print and online historical newspapers.

Microfilm copies of the following magazines are in the North Carolina Collection at the Gastonia Main Library.

• North Carolina Historical Review
  • Reel 1: Volume 1 - 6 (Jan 1924 - Oct 1929) Includes: Index
  • Reel 2: Volume 7 - 13 (Jan 1930 - Oct 1936) Includes: Index
  • Reel 3: Volume 14 - 20 (Jan 1937 - Oct 1943) Includes: Index

Visit East Carolina University's North Carolina Periodicals Index 1924-2015 for online access.
Index links to articles available for Full text 1924-1967.

• Textile Industries
  • v. 124 – v. 133 1960 – 1969
  • v. 134 – v. 142 1970 – 1978
• Textile World
  • v. 109 – v. 118 1959 – 1968
  • v. 119 – v. 128 1969 – 1978