Census Records

The U. S. census has been taken every 10 years since the first one in 1790.

Some important notes:

The census taker (or enumerator) went house to house writing down the information he gathered on "population schedules", preprinted forms he was given to fill out. The population schedules were collected into books by county. Years later they were microfilmed and now they have been "digitized" and can be read on computers.

If you know what county your ancestor lived in, find out when a county was formed and from what other counties its territory was taken. For example, Gaston County was formed in 1846 from Lincoln County. Therefore you will have an 1850 census for Gaston County, but for the 1840 census you will have to look at the census for Lincoln County.

• This web site provides this information for all U. S. counties:  Historical Atlases and Maps of U. S. and States.
  Go to: http://www.mapofus.org/
• 929.197 Sou NCC. The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy, 3rd ed. also provides this information. Online at Ancestry.com  
  Go to: https://wiki.rootsweb.com/wiki/index.php/The_Source:_A_Guidebook_to_American_Genealogy

Each time the census has been taken, the enumerators have been given a different list of questions to ask. Many books on genealogical research describe what information you can expect to find in each census. Useful references are:

• 317.3 HIN NCC. Your Guide to the Federal Census.
• 929.1 SZU NCC. Finding Answers in U. S. Census Records.
• Enumeration Forms provides copies of the questions asked in every US Census from 1850 - 2000.
  Go to: http://usa.ipums.org/usa/voliii/tEnumForm.shtml

The National Archives provides information about who was counted and what questions did the census ask for each Census year.
Go to: https://www.archives.gov/research/census/about

• Charts and Forms from the National Archives allows you to view or print a PDF version of blank templates of Federal Census (Slaves, Veterans, Indians), Non-Population Census (Agricultural, Industrial-Manufactures, Mortality), Immigration, and Draft Registration forms.
  Go to: https://www.archives.gov/research/genealogy/charts-forms

Online Resources (Full Census Images)

NOTE: See North Carolina Census Records Online, for direct links to access free U.S. Census record images for North Carolina and Gaston County.

Go to: https://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/census/records-online

You can find online digital images of the original handwritten schedules in these databases. Always look at the source.

• National Archives provides information of where to search for each of the U.S. Census records.
  Go to: https://www.archives.gov/research/census/online-resources
• Ancestry Library Edition includes an every name census index and the actual images of the census pages from 1790 to 1940. It is available at all library branches and is your best starting point for census research.
• HeritageQuest provides the same images and indexes as Ancestry, but can be used at home with your library card through NC Live.
  Go to: https://www.nclive.org/cgi-bin/nclsm?rsrc=218
• FamilySearch.org also provides free access to many US and international censuses.
  Go to: https://familysearch.org/search/collection/list#page=1&recordType=Census

Microfilm Resources (Gastonia Main Library)

Census Records on Microfilm in the North Carolina Collection at the Gaston County Public Library.
Go to: http://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/records-on-microfilm/census

Printed Resources (Gastonia Main Library)

Printed ("transcribed") censuses for Lincoln and Gaston Counties, 1790 - 1890:

For places other than Gaston and Lincoln Counties, the easiest way to find printed ("transcribed") censuses in this library is to search our Catalog by Keyword for the name of the place plus census.

For example, a keyword search for Cleveland census yields 6 entries for transcribed Cleveland County censuses.

The Federal census takers sometimes had other schedules to fill out besides the population schedules. At different times these included "special" topics such as mortality, agriculture, manufacturing, "social" and slave schedules.

For more information, see the National Archives page on Non-population Census Records
(includes "Nonpopulation Census Schedules by State, 1820-1930")
Go to: http://www.archives.gov/research/census/nonpopulation/

Some things you should know:

Census Non-Population Schedules

• The data from these censuses is NOT included in the population schedules. Some of the Agriculture, Industry/Manufacturing Census records are available online in this collection. You may have to contact a County Library for a transcription and the Archive of the State you are researching to locate this information.
  • You can find this special information on separate schedules, some of which are available in Ancestry Library Edition.
    • U.S., Selected Federal Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880

Census Mortality Schedules

• The data from these censuses is NOT included in the population schedules. Census takers recorded information about all the people who died in the year prior to the census.These special census records were called the Census Mortality Schedules.
  • A listing of available mortality schedules, by state and year, is available.
  • You can find this special information on separate mortality schedules, many of which are available in Ancestry Library Edition.
    • U.S., Federal Census Mortality Schedules Index, 1850-1880. Includes North Carolina 1850; South Carolina 1850, South Carolina 1860.
    • U.S., Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885.
  • United States Census (Mortality Schedule), 1850-1880 is at FamilySearch.org.
    Go to: https://familysearch.org/search/collection/1420441
  • Nonpopulation census schedules for North Carolina, 1850-1880, mortality and manufacturing [industry] Go to: https://www.familysearch.org/search/catalog/737954

Slave Schedules

• The Slave Schedules do NOT include the names of enslaved people. They list the name of the slave owner and give details on the number of slaves owned by age and sex. Example of a blank 1860 Slave Schedule.
  • The 1850 and 1860 slave schedules are available in Ancestry Library Edition.
  • The 1850 and 1860 North Carolina slave schedules for Gaston and Lincoln County are available on microfilm at the Gastonia Main Library.
  • United States Census (Slave Schedule), 1850 is at FamilySearch.org
    Go to: https://familysearch.org/search/collection/1420440
  • The 1860 slave schedule is available at Internet Archive (includes Reel 920 - Reel 927).
    Gaston County is located on Reel 922.
    Go to: https://archive.org/details/populationschedu922unit

1840 Census of Revolutionary War Pensioners

• "As part of the 1840 U.S. Federal Census, census takers obtained the names and ages of all the individuals in each household who served in the Revolutionary War or provided other military services."
  • U.S., Revolutionary War Pensioner Census, 1840 Available in Ancestry Library Edition
  • 1840 Census: A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services Go to: https://www.census.gov/library/publications/1841/dec/1840d.html

1890 Census of Union Veterans

• There is a surviving special census from 1890 of Union veterans. In a few places the enumerator also listed Confederate veterans.
  • Available in Ancestry Library Edition
  • United States Census of Union Veterans and Widows of the Civil War, 1890 is at FamilySearch.org
    Go to: https://familysearch.org/search/collection/1877095
  • 1890 Special Schedule of the 11th Census enumerating Union Veterans and Widows of Union Veterans of the Civil War. Microfilm Copy Available at the Gastonia Main Library.

U.S., Special Census on Deaf Family Marriages and Hearing Relatives, 1888-1895

• Ancestry Library Edition: U.S., Special Census on Deaf Family Marriages and Hearing Relatives, 1888-1895 (Free Index)

1880 Schedules of Defective, Dependent, and Delinquent Classes

• NOTE: North Carolina is not available in these databases.
• Ancestry Library Edition: U.S. Federal Census - 1880 Schedules of Defective, Dependent, and Delinquent Classes (Ancestry Library Edition available in all library branches.)
• Heritage Quest: U.S. Federal Census - 1880 Schedules of Defective, Dependent, and Delinquent Classes (Heritage Quest available in all library branches. Home access with Gaston County library card.)

The Soundex is a coded surname (last name) index based on the way a surname sounds rather than the way it is spelled.

• The Soundex Indexing System from the National Archives provides more information.
  Go to: http://www.archives.gov/research/census/soundex.html
• To use the Soundex indexes, you convert the surname to a code.
  • Yet Another Soundex Converter
    Go to: http://bradandkathy.com/genealogy/yasc.html
• Ancestry Library Edition and some other databases include the option to search by Soundex variations of a name.

What if you can't find a person through the indexes? Since census takers and indexers do make mistakes, sometimes it is still best to look through a census schedule, page by page.

Before you start reading the census, do everything you can to narrow down where a person lived within a county or large city.

City Directories

Start with city directories. The Gastonia Main Library has city directories for communities in Gaston County.
Go to: http://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/city-directories

Vital Records

You can also try looking for addresses in old family letters or other primary sources such as death certificates. See the "Vital Records" sections of our guides to Finding Gaston County Ancestors and Finding Lincoln County Ancestors.
Go to: http://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/finding/gaston-county-ancestors
Go to: http://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/finding/lincoln-county-ancestors

Beginning with the 1880 census, each area was divided into "enumeration districts" (EDs). Each census year had different EDs. The term subdivision was used in earlier censuses to refer to part of a supervisor's or marshall's district.

1930 Enumeration Districts

• The National Archives has a complete list of 1930 Enumeration District descriptions along with other useful tips on using this census.
  Go to: http://www.archives.gov/research/census/1930/
• At the Gastonia Main Library we have 2 rolls of microfilm containing all of the 1930 enumeration descriptions for North Carolina, North Dakota, South Carolina, South Dakota and Tennessee.

1940 Enumeration Districts and Maps

• Finding Transcribed ED Descriptions for 1940 in one step
  Go To: https://stevemorse.org/ed/ed.php

Paper copies of the Gaston County and Lincoln County Enumeration District descriptions are at all libraries in our county.

• Gaston County Enumeration Districts.
  Go to: http://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/census/the-united-states-census-for-genealogists-1940
• Lincoln County Enumeration Districts.
  Go to: http://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/census/the-united-states-census-for-genealogists-1940

The National Archives provides digital scans of ED maps.

• The National Archives provides an ED Map Search. Enter in the search box: 1940 Census maps + the county + the state. For example "1940 Census maps Gaston North Carolina". Warning: these can be very large images.
  Go to: http://www.archives.gov/research/catalog/
• View in one step the Enumeration District Maps for 1940 at Census website by Stephen P. Morse, PhD  &  Joel D. Weintraub, PhD.
  Search by state, county, and city to find "Links to NARA viewer" and "Direct links to jpegs on NARA server" of ED maps.
  Go to: https://stevemorse.org/census/arc1940-1950edmaps.html

1950 Enumeration Districts and Maps

• Steve Morse's website provides 3 utilities to find EDs for an 1950 Location and go straight to the page you want in the census.
  1950 ED numbers corresponding to your location
  Go to: http://stevemorse.org/census/unified.html
• Finding Transcribed ED Descriptions for 1950 in one step
  Go To: https://stevemorse.org/ed/ed.php

The National Archives provides digital scans of ED maps.

• The National Archives provides an ED Map Search. Enter in the search box: 1950 Census maps + the county + the state. For example "1950 Census maps Gaston North Carolina". Warning: these can be very large images.
  Go to: http://www.archives.gov/research/catalog/
• View in one step the Enumeration District Maps for 1950 at Census website by Stephen P. Morse, PhD  &  Joel D. Weintraub, PhD.
  Search by state, county, and city to find "Links to NARA viewer" and "Direct links to jpegs on NARA server" of ED maps.
  Go to: https://stevemorse.org/census/arc1940-1950edmaps.html

Nationwide

• Steve Morse's website provides 3 utilities to find EDs for an 1880 to 1950 Location and go straight to the page you want in the census.
  Go to: http://stevemorse.org/census/unified.html

• View Enumeration District Maps for 1940 and 1950 at Census website by Stephen P. Morse, PhD  &  Joel D. Weintraub, PhD
  Go to: https://stevemorse.org/census/arc1940-1950edmaps.html

• Family Search has the United States Enumeration District Maps for the Twelfth through the Sixteenth US Censuses, 1900-1940.
  Go to: https://familysearch.org/search/collection/2329948

• HeritageQuest has the U.S. Enumeration District Maps and Descriptions, 1940. HeritageQuest is a free genealogy database available through NCLive.org. It can be accessed from any internet-enabled device with a current library card number.
  Go to: https://www.nclive.org/cgi-bin/nclsm?rsrc=218

• HeritageQuest has the Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920. Select a State to see how the county boundaries changed with each census year or view the entire United States by decade to see the changes in state boundary lines.

List of First Name Abbreviations by Genealogy In Time Magazine.

"In many historic documents, first names were abbreviated. For example, old street directories and city directories always abbreviated common first names. Parish records often abbreviated familiar Christian names. This was done to save space and paper. In some jurisdictions, census enumerators would also abbreviate common first names when going door to door to save time. Knowledge of first name abbreviations can be very helpful in tracking down ancestors."

http://www.genealogyintime.com/dictionaries/list-of-first-name-abbreviations.html

Family Search has list of United States Census Abbreviations or codes found on various United States censuses (includes Relationships and Occupations).

https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/United_States_Census_Abbreviations

1930 Census

• 1930 Census: Classified Index of Occupations
  "This index is based upon the occupational designations returned on the schedules at the Twelfth [1900], Thirteenth [1910], and Fourteenth [1920] Censuses of the United States. It has been supplemented, however, by designations gleaned from various occupational glossaries and from other sources"
  Go to: www.census.gov/library/publications/1930/dec/occupation-index-class.html
• 1930 Census: Alphabetical Index of Occupations
  "In this alphabetical index the occupational designations are arranged alphabetically and each designation is followed by a symbol indicating to which of the 557 occupations and occupation groups of the classification it belongs."
  Go to: https://www.census.gov/library/publications/1930/dec/occupation-index-alpha.html

1940 Census

• 1940 Census Occupation and Industry Classifications
  Go to: https://www.archives.gov/files/research/census/1940/occupational-codes.pdf

Author: Gaston County Public Library
Title: The United States Census for Genealogists 1790 - 1940
URL: https://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/census/the-united-states-census-for-genealogists-1790-1940
Revised: 5 August 2021