Skip to main content
banner link link link link link link

Periodicals

NC Live & Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature

NCLive.org is a collection of online databases available from any computer with internet access. It includes access to magazine articles, newspapers, journals, reference sources, research material, and more. Some of the NCLive.org databases provide the full text of many articles; others provide indexing only. NCLive.org is available at all Gaston County libraries or you can use it at home with your library card number.

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
Online databases may not go back as far as you need for a particular magazine. If you need information from an earlier year, check R050 R. Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1900 - 2002). Includes a wide range of magazines on many subjects.

North Carolina Periodicals Index

The Joyner Library at East Carolina University in Greenville, NC, has an index of magazines published in the Tar Heel state. The indexing is incomplete but still very useful.
Go to: https://digital.lib.ecu.edu/ncpi/

A list of periodicals included in the index can be found at: https://digital.lib.ecu.edu/ncpi/periodicals

Getting the Article

Indexes provide the author, article title, magazine / journal / newspaper name, date published, and page numbers for articles. Once you have obtained this information (also known as a citation) you can try one of the following methods to obtain the full text of the article:

  1. Search our list of Magazines and Newspapers to see if we own the magazine, journal, or newspaper. If we do, copies from print resources and microfilm can be made for $0.10 / sheet of paper.
    Go to: http://gastonlibrary.org/index.cfm/research/periodicals/
  2. Many articles are available on NCLive.org in full text.
  3. Request a copy via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). This means that we get a copy of the article from a library outside of Gaston County. It can take 1 – 3 weeks for an item to arrive, but if you do not need the item immediately this is an often free service that we recommend patrons take advantage of.
    Go to: http://gastonlibrary.org/index.cfm/about-us/service-policies/interlibrary-loan-policy/

Googlebooks Magazines

Googlebooks makes its archives of magazines available to browse online, including many Spanish language periodicals.  Search in Google for "google books magazines" to see an alphabetical list. It is also possible to request Interlibrary Loan articles with Issue, article title, date, and page numbers.  Ask at the Reference Desk for help.

Citation

Author: Gaston County Public Library
Title: Finding Magazine Articles
URL: https://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/serials/finding-magazine-articles
Revised: 21 September 2020

©Copyright 2015, Gaston County Public Library. All Rights Reserved.