LibGuides: Periodicals: Newspapers

NewsBank

Newspapers

Local
Charlotte Metro
National & International
Archives

Newspapers available at the Main Library in Gastonia, NC. Please contact our Branch Libraries for information on newspapers available at other locations.

Local

GASTON GAZETTE
Newspaper; paper issues kept until replaced by microfilm.
Gaston Gazette
NC Live Full text coverage: Oct 26, 2012 - Jun 10, 2015
NewsBank has The Gaston Gazette Full text coverage for 2016 - Current.

Charlotte Metro

CHARLOTTE OBSERVER
Newspaper; kept 6 months.
http://www.charlotteobserver.com
NewsBank has The Charlotte Observer Full-text coverage for 1985 - 2024.
CHARLOTTE BUSINESS JOURNAL
Newspaper; kept 3 months.
http://charlotte.bizjournals.com/charlotte/
CHARLOTTE BUSINESS JOURNAL BOOK OF LISTS
Annual; kept 1 year plus current year.
Current issue in Ready Reference.

National & International

NEW YORK TIMES
Newspaper; kept 3 months.
NC Live
New York Times Online Archive
WALL STREET JOURNAL
Newspaper; kept 3 months.
NC Live

USA TODAY
Newspaper; kept 3 months.
NC Live

Archives

Archives of the following local newspapers are available on microfilm at the Main Library in Gastonia, NC.

Newspaper	Microfilm	Indexing
The Gaston Citizen	25 Oct 1951 - 21 Mar 1956	None.
The Gaston Gazette	Feb 1989 - Oct 2020	1970, 1998 - current
The Gastonia Gazette	21 Feb 1880 - 1 Jan 1989 (minus some issues in the early years)	070 GAS NCC Index 1940. The Gastonia Gazette 60th Anniversary Edition Index: 10 OCT 1940. (Online) R929.5 GAS. The Gastonia Gazette Obituary and Death Notices Index: 1880 - 1899. R929.5 GAS. The Gastonia Gazette Obituary and Marriage Index: "Gaston in the Eighties" (1880s).