Periodicals

Most magazines are only available at the Main Library in Gastonia, NC. Please contact your local Branch Libraries for information on magazines available at their location. Magazines are not available for check-out unless otherwise noted.

For more information on locating magazine articles on a specific topic, see our guide to Finding Magazine Articles.

If we do not have access to a journal, magazine, or newspaper, we may be able to obtain a copy of a specific article through Interlibrary Loan. Fill out an Interlibrary Loan request online or ask your local library staff member for assistance.

• eMagazines
• Genealogy
• Local School & Government Notes
• Children & Teens

eMagazines

Read magazines online with your library card!

• North Carolina Digital Library provides free access to full digital copies of many popular magazines, and can be viewed on a computer or mobile device with internet access. A library card is required.
• NCLive.org is a collection of online databases that provide free access to journals, magazines, and newspapers. A library card is required. If you are interested in seeing if a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper is included in NC Live, start with their "Search by Title" page.
   

  Search Journals, Magazines, & Newspapers

  

Genealogy & Local History

The North Carolina Collection at the Main Library contains many specialized magazines on genealogy and local history that are not included on this page because they are in our catalog. For a full list, see our guide to NCC Magazines.

Ask for local textile magazines at the Reference desk at the Main Library in Gastonia, NC.

Local School and Government Meeting Notes

• CITY OF GASTONIA CITY COUNCIL AGENDA and MINUTES
  Sept 1981 -
  Last 3 years plus current year shelved in Reference. Earlier years are in storage; please ask for assistance at Reference Desk.
  Archives are available online at https://www.cityofgastonia.com/government/agendas-minutes-and-videos.html
• GASTON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS NOTES and AGENDA
  23 July 1979 -
  Shelved in Reference, call number [R352.97567 MIN NC].
  
• Online at: http://www.gastongov.com/government/county_commission/agendas_minutes_and_videos.php
  Also known as: "Gaston County Court Minutes" or "Minutes of the Meetings."
• GASTON COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD AGENDA
  Bound with "Gaston County Board of Education Meeting" in Reference, call number R379.1531 GAS NC.
  Agendas available online at http://www.gaston.k12.nc.us/domain/92
• GASTON COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD BRIEFS
  1994 -
  Shelved in Reference.
  School Board Briefs available online at http://www.gaston.k12.nc.us/domain/91

Children & Teens

Children's Magazines

Current issues of these magazines are available in Children's Services at the Main Library.

• HIGHLIGHTS FOR CHILDREN
• HIGHLIGHTS HIGH FIVE
• LADYBUG
• NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC KIDS
• RANGER RICK
• SPORTS ILLUSTRATED FOR KIDS
• ZOOBOOKS

Teen Magazines

Current issues of these magazines are available in the Teen Reading Area at the Main Library.

• J-14
• SCOUT LIFE

Magazines A to Z

 

Also check NCLive.org, North Carolina Digital Library (Magazines) for other popular magazines online.
For local history journals, please visit the North Carolina Collection -- NCC Magazines.

 

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

A

• AMERICAN SPIRIT
  Most recent 2 issues shelved in Magazine Reading Area.
  Back issues in North Carolina Collection -- NCC Magazines.
• ASTRONOMY
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• AWI QUARTERLY (Animal Welfare Institute)
  Current issue only.

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

B

• BARRON'S
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
  NC Live
• BETTER HOMES & GARDENS
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• BIRDS & BLOOMS
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• BLOOMBERG BUSINESS WEEK
  Current year.
• BOOK PAGE
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• BRIDAL GUIDE
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• BUSINESS NORTH CAROLINA
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
  Indexed in North Carolina Periodicals Index

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

C

• CAR AND DRIVER
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• CHARLOTTE [MAGAZINE]
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• CHARLOTTE BUSINESS JOURNAL
  Kept 3 months.
• CHESS LIFE
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• CIVIL WAR TIMES
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• CONSUMER REPORTS
  Kept 5 years.
  Online in NCLive: Scroll down to "C" in NC LIVE Browse all (A-Z)
• CONSUMER REPORTS BUYING GUIDES
  Kept 5 years.
  Buying Guides are available at Reference Desk.
• COOKING WITH PAULA DEEN
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• COSMOPOLITAN
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• COUNTRY LIVING
  Kept 1 year plus current year.

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

D

• DISCOVER
  Kept 1 year plus current year.

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

E

• EMMY MAGAZINE
  Kept 1 year plus current year
• ENTREPRENEUR
  Kept 1 year plus current year
• ESSENCE
  Kept 1 year plus current year.

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

F

• FAMILY HANDYMAN
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• FDA CONSUMER
  Available online at http://www.fda.gov/fdac/.
• FINE GARDENING
  Kept 1 year plus current year
• FORBES
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• FORTUNE
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• FOUR WHEELER
  Kept 1 year plus current year.

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

G

• GASTON ALIVE
  Archives available online at https://issuu.com/ Search "Gaston Alive"
  Also https://gastonalive.com/category/magazine/issues/
• GOOD HOUSEKEEPING
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
  Indexed in Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature since 1909.
• GQ (Gentlemen's Quarterly)
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• GUITAR PLAYER
  Kept 1 year plus current year.

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

H

• HARPER'S BAZAAR
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• HORTICULTURE
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• HOT ROD
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• HOUSE BEAUTIFUL
  Kept 1 year plus current year.

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

I

• INTERNET GENEALOGY
  Most recent 2 issues shelved in Magazine Reading Area.
  Back issues in North Carolina Collection -- NCC Magazines.
  Former title: "YOUR GENEALOGY TODAY"

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

J

• No titles.

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

K

• KIPLINGER'S PERSONAL FINANCE MAGAZINE
  Online: Search "Journals, Magazines, & Newspapers" in NC Live

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

L

• No titles.

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

M

• MID MOD TREASURES (formerly TREASURES)
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• MOTHER EARTH NEWS
  Kept 1 year plus current year.

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

N

• N.A.D.A. GUIDES: USED CAR, OLDER USED CAR
  Kept 15 years plus current year.
  Ask for assistance at the Reference Desk at Gastonia Main.
• NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
  An index volume for 1888 - 1988 is shelvedin Reference [R051 NAT].
  Indexed in Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature.
  The online index is temporarily unavailable https://www.nationalgeographic.org/publications-index/.
• NATURAL HISTORY
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
  Archives available online at http://www.nytimes.com/ref/books/review/br-back-issues.html
• NEW YORK TIMES MAGAZINE
  Current year.
  Archives available online at https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2017/magazine/past-issues-sunday-mag.html Archives of covers and article highlights online at http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/magazine/archive-covers-index.html
• NEW YORKER
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• NEWSWEEK
  Ceased paper publication.
  1980 - 1997 available on microfilm. Ask at 3rd floor Local History desk.
  Indexed in Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

O

• OUR STATE
  Most recent 2 issues shelved in Magazine Reading Area.
  Back issues in North Carolina Collection -- NCC Magazines.
• OUT MAGAZINE
  Kept 1 year plus current year.

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

P

• PC GAMER
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• PEOPLE WEEKLY
  Current year.
• PIONEER WOMAN
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• POPULAR MECHANICS
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• PREVENTION
  Kept 1 year plus current year.

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

Q

• No titles.

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

R

• READER'S DIGEST
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• READER'S DIGEST (Large Print)
  Current issue only.
• ROLLING STONE
  Kept 1 year plus current year.

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

S

• SATURDAY REVIEW
  1980 - 1985 issues available on microfilm. Ask at Local History & Genealogy Desk.
• SCIENCE NEWS
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
  In NC Live from 1985 to present (full text).
• SCIENTIFIC AMERICAN
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• SMITHSONIAN
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
  Indexed in Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature and in Biography Index since 1973.
• SOUND AND VISION
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• SOUTHERN LIVING
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
  An index to recipes published in the magazine's annual cookbook compilations from 1979 - 1999 is shelved in Reference R641.5 SOU.
• SPORTS ILLUSTRATED
  Current year.

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

T

• TASTE OF HOME
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
  Search our Catalog for "Taste of Home" to locate recipe collections.
• TASTE OF THE SOUTH
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• TIME
  Current year.
  1923 - 1933 and 1980 - 1997 available on microfilm shelved in Microfilm Cabinet; ask at Local History & Genealogy Desk.
  Indexed in Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1935 to 2002) and in Biography Index.
• TRAVEL + LEISURE
  Kept 1 year plus current year.

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

U

• No titles.

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

V

• VALUE LINE
  Current volume is held in 2 binders shelved in Ready Reference at the Reference Desk in Main Library.
  Binder 1: Ratings and reports, Binder 2: Selection and opinion.
• VOGUE
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
  Indexed in Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature.

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

W

• WASHINGTON REPORT ON MIDDLE EAST AFFAIRS
  Online: Search "Journals, Magazines, & Newspapers" in NC Live
• WILDLIFE IN NORTH CAROLINA
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
  Indexed since 1992 in the North Carolina Periodicals Index.
• WIRED
  Kept 1 year plus current year.
• WOMAN'S DAY
  Kept 1 year plus current year.

• A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    XYZ

XYZ

• No titles.