Maps: Railroad

Railroad Maps, 1828 to 1900 Collection from the Library of Congress.
Go to: https://www.loc.gov/collections/railroad-maps-1828-to-1900

Browse railroad maps by state or by region.

Railroad map of North Carolina, 1900.

North Carolina - Railroads Map of 1883: Cram's Railroad and County Map Nth & Sth Carolina. Geo. T. Cram. 1883.
https://www.carolana.com/NC/Transportation/railroads/1883_map_of_nc_railroads.html

North Carolina - Railroads Map of 1922: Blum's Commercial Map of North Carolina and South Carolina. 1922 by Max L. Blum.
Map shows main lines of railroads and interurban trolley lines. The Gastonia to Charlotte Piedmont and Northern Electric Railway is shown.
https://www.carolana.com/NC/Transportation/railroads/1922_map_of_nc_railroads.html

Maps showing how the railroads evolved each decade from J.D. Lewis website www.carolana.com
Go to: https://www.carolana.com/NC/Transportation/railroads/home.html

1840 - 1850 - 1860 - 1870 - 1880 - 1890 - 1900 - 1910 - 1920 - 1930 - 1940 - 1950 - 1960 - 1970 - 1980 - 1990 - 2000 - 2010

North Carolina Maps - Railroad Maps.
This collection begins in 1840 and contains only those maps on which railroads are prominently featured.

Go to: http://dc.lib.unc.edu/cdm/search/collection/ncmaps/searchterm/Railroad/field/subjea/mode/exact/conn/and/order/date!title/ad/asc/cosuppress/1

• Tunison's new Railroad, Distance and Township map of North Carolina and South Carolina. "Counties [including Gaston] are shown and the townships of each county are delineated and identified. Railroads, cities and towns, and rivers and other bodies of water are depicted. Alphabetical lists of the counties of and post offices in each state are found in tables at the bottom of the map."

Crucial Rally to Support Railroads, 1828
"On August 1, 1828, more than 200 people gathered at the home of William Albright in what is now Alamance County to respond to UNC President Joseph Caldwell’s pleas for a state-supported railroad."

South Carolina Railroad Photograph Collection includes photographs of train stations, depots, rail yards, engines, and rolling stock.
Go to: https://digital.library.sc.edu/collections/south-carolina-railroad-photograph-collection/

National Archives collection includes "annotated blueprints featuring right-of-way and tract maps for railroads in the United States." Search by name of railroad (example: Carolina and Northwestern Railway) or location name such as GASTON COUNTY.

Go to: https://catalog.archives.gov/search-within/562366

Semaphore was a magazine for employees of the Piedmont and Northern and Durham and Southern Railways, published in North Carolina by the Piedmont & Northern Railway Company.

Go to: https://greenvillelibrary.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/p16821coll35/search

Search by text or by title. Go to: https://fromthepage.com/sc-room/semaphore-magazine

WVNC Rails includes information and maps about the Piedmont and Northern Railway from Charlotte to Gastonia.

https://www.wvncrails.org/piedmont--northern-railway-yesterday-and-today-part-i.html

https://www.wvncrails.org/piedmont--northern-railway-yesterday-and-today-part-ii.html