Historic Properties Map
The NC Historic Preservation Office’s interactive resource map is available from the GIS Maps and Data site.
"This service was created by the State Historic Preservation Office as an aid to planning and research. Site locations and boundaries are drawn from georeferenced scans of National Register and historic property survey maps supplemented with aerial photography, county tax parcel layers, and other sources."
Go to: https://nc.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=79ea671ebdcc45639f0860257d5f5ed7
General Maps, North Carolina | Library of Congress:
Library of Congress has digital images of early general Maps of North Carolina. Map dates range from 1590 to 1932.
- To David Stone and Peter Brown, Esq. : this first actual survey of the state of North Carolina 1808.
Go to: https://www.loc.gov/collections/general-maps/?fa=location%3Anorth+carolina
North Carolina Historic Overlay Maps
Historic Overlay Maps, is a selection of maps from the North Carolina Maps project, that are layered directly on top of current road maps or satellite images. You can fade the historic map and see through it in order to compare the similarities and differences between old and new maps, and to study the changes in North Carolina over time.
- First Survey of North Carolina, 1808 [Original map:"To David Stone and Peter Brown, Esq.: this first actual survey of North Carolina taken by the subscribers is respectfully dedicated by their humble servants, Jona. Price and John Strother.," 1808]
Go to: http://web.lib.unc.edu/nc-maps/interactive/overlay.php
Books
The Family Tree Historical Maps Book: a state-by-state atlas of U.S. history, 1790-1900 by Call Number: 912.73 DOLISBN: 9781440336782Publication Date: 2014-07-14
Explore Maps - Social Explorer
- US DemographyVisually explore 220 years of demographic data with over 20,000 socio-economic indicators between 1790 and the present. Includes all decennial censuses, American Community Surveys, and two religion surveys.
Historical Markers
- The Historical Marker Database"This website is an illustrated searchable online catalog of historical information viewed through the filter of roadside and other permanent outdoor markers, monuments, and plaques. It contains photographs, inscription transcriptions, marker locations, maps, additional information and commentary, and links to more information.:
The Industrial and farm map of Gaston County, North Carolina
North Carolina Maps has a selection of Gaston County Maps, including highway and road survey maps.
Go to: http://dc.lib.unc.edu/cdm/search/collection/ncmaps/searchterm/Gaston%20County/field/subjed/mode/exact/conn/and/cosuppress/
The Industrial and farm map of Gaston County, North Carolina (published 1931) by Hugh E. White, shows townships, churches, schools, mills, dairies, landowners, foundries, textile mills, and hospitals.
Go to: http://dc.lib.unc.edu/cdm/singleitem/collection/ncmaps/id/3421/rec/1
Historical Maps of North Carolina - The University of Alabama
The Historical Maps of North Carolina Archive is a digitized collection of selected historical North Carolina map holdings from the University of Alabama Map Library, the Alabama Department of Archives and History, and other sources.
Go to: http://alabamamaps.ua.edu/historicalmaps/us_states/northcarolina/index2.html
US GenWeb Digital Map Library - North Carolina
Digital Map Collection North Carolina by US GenWeb Archives has state level maps of North Carolina.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
David Rumsey Map Collection Database has over 79,000 rare 16th through 21st century maps and images online, including maps for North Carolina. Examples include the following:
- Accurate map of North and South Carolina with their Indian frontiers ... from actual surveys by Henry Mouzon 1783.
- North Carolina 1794.
- North Carolina 1812.
- North Carolina South Carolina and Georgia 1836.
- Map of North And South Carolina 1839.
- North Carolina 1873.
- Map of North Carolina and South Carolina 1891.
Go to: http://www.davidrumsey.com/
Mills' atlas : atlas of the state of South Carolina, 1825.
- Mills' atlas : atlas of the state of South Carolina, 1825.Call Number: 912.757 M N.C.C.Publication Date: 1980 (Reprint of 1825 edition with added material)
- Atlas of the state of South Carolina by Robert MillsFacsimile Edition of original published in 1825. Columbia, S.C., Lucy Hampton Bostick and Fant H. Thornley.
- Carolina Places in TimeIncludes maps from South Carolina Mills Atlas 1825.
Carolina Places in Time
Carolina Places in Time maps cover primarily the Charlotte, Mecklenburg region, but also include older maps for North and South Carolina.
Go to: http://maps.co.mecklenburg.nc.us/historicmaps/