North Carolina Maps: Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
The Sanborn Maps in North Carolina is an online color map collection of commercial and industrial districts of towns and cities in North America. These online maps show bird's eye views of built structures, with information about dimensions, height, and material type that assisted fire insurance companies in setting rates and terms.
North Carolina Maps features online all of UNC-Chapel Hill's North Carolina Sanborn maps produced through 1922.
Browse maps by county or city. Includes Gaston County maps for Belmont, Cherryville, Gastonia, and Mount Holly.
Go to: http://web.lib.unc.edu/nc-maps/sanborn.php
Sanborn Maps - Library of Congress
The Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Online Checklist provides a searchable database of the fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company housed in the collections of the Library of Congress. The online checklist also contains links to existing digital images from the stored collection and will be updated as new images are added.
NOTE: The existing digital images only make up a small portion of the indexed collection.
Go to: https://www.loc.gov/collections/sanborn-maps/
The Library of Congress has digital images for some North Carolina Fire Insurance Maps including Gaston County. You can search by state for other available Sanborn maps. The Library of Congress also has a key to the codes and colors you will see on these Sanborn maps.
Gaston County / The Sanborn Map Company.
- Gaston County byCall Number: 912.756773 G N.C.C.Vol. I includes city maps of Gastonia for 1893, 1898, 1904, 1908, 1915, 1922, 1930, and mill district for 1930. Vol II includes city maps for Belmont for 1922 and 1929, Bessemer City for 1930, Cherryville for 1914 and 1925, and Mt. Holly for 1922 and 1929.
NC LIve: ProQuest Sanborn Maps Geo Edition - North Carolina
ProQuest Digital Sanborn Maps provides free digital access to large-scale black and white Sanborn Fire Insurance maps of North Carolina towns and cities, searchable by address and GPS coordinates. This database is available through NCLive.org with a current library card number.
Go to: https://www.nclive.org/ Type in "sanborn maps" in the search bar. Select link for Best Bets: Sanborn Maps North Carolina
The following black and white Gastonia Sanborn maps are available in NCLive.org, but are NOT available in North Carolina Maps:
- Gastonia Mill District April 1930
- Gastonia Mill District April 1930 (November 1942)
- Gastonia March 1930
- Gastonia March 1930 (February 1950)
- Belmont November 1929
- Belmont November 1929 (September 1938)
- Bessemer City April 1930
- Bessemer City April 1930 (April 1939)
- Cherryville February 1925
- Cherryville February 1925 (February 1943)
- Mounty Holly February 1929
- Mounty Holly February 1929 (Updated)
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of South Carolina
The University of South Carolina provides an online digital collection of Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of South Carolina that you can search by keyword or browse by city, county, or year.
Go to: https://digital.library.sc.edu/collections/sanborn-fire-insurance-maps-of-south-carolina/