LibGuides: Maps: Transportation

Current Transportation Map for North Carolina

"The State Transportation Map, first published in 1916, is a popular and useful travel resource. Updated every two years, it features North Carolina's extensive highway system as well as important safety information."

A 2022-2023 digital version is available for download with front and back side.

Go to: https://www.ncdot.gov/travel-maps/maps/Pages/state-transportation-map.aspx

North Carolina Transportation Maps

North Carolina County Maps [cartographic material] by NC Department of Transportation
Call Number: 912.756 NOR A-Y NCC OVER
Publication Date: 2000
Lists division number, district number, and county name in lower right quadrant.
Available at Gastonia Main branch.

North Carolina Maps - Highway Maps Collection

In addition to statewide highway maps, this category also includes county highway maps published in 1938 and again in the mid 1960s. Includes Gaston County maps.

North Carolina Maps - Official State Highway Maps by Date

The state highway maps in North Carolina Maps range in date from 1916 to 2000.

You can view older maps from a specific year.

North Carolina Historical County Road Maps provides access to select sets of historical county maintenance maps that the NCDOT's Mapping Section stores in its archives. Includes county maps for the years: 1930; 1936; 1944; 1949; 1953; 1957; 1962; 1968; 1980; 1990; 1990-2000; and 2009-2010.

Transportation Maps - Library of Congress

Transportation and Communication Map Collection from the Library of Congress:

Go to: https://www.loc.gov/collections/transportation-and-communication

South Carolina Transportation Maps

South Carolina Department of Transportation County Road Maps
Go to: https://digital.library.sc.edu/collections/south-carolina-department-of-transportation-county-road-maps/