Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Maps: Aerial

North Carolina Maps

Gaston County Interactive GIS

At the Gaston County Interactive GIS website, you can select "Optional Map Layers" on the right side menu. Select "Historical B & W Imagery" to choose black and white aerial photographs for different years (1938, 1951, 1956, 1968, 1979, 1984, 1997).
Go to: https://gis.gastongov.com/ 

Digital Aerial Imagery and Orthophotographs: GIS: NCSU Libraries

NCSU provides a list of Digital aerial imagery and orthophotography websites.

Go to: https://www.lib.ncsu.edu/gis/orthophotos.html

NC DEQ: Historic Aerial Photography

The North Carolina Geological Survey has a collection of historic aerial photographs in their Raleigh office.

Go to: https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/energy-mineral-land-resources/north-carolina-geological-survey/aerial-photos

The collection is black and white aerial stereo pair photographs taken in the 1950's and early 1960's of many of North Carolina's counties.
View a list of Historical Aerial Photographs of available counties.

South Carolina Aerial

South Carolina Aerial Photograph Indexes, 1937–1989 "This digital collection comprises over 1,700 index sheets from over 300 aerial photographic surveys of South Carolina. These surveys, conducted by the United States Department of Agriculture, produced thousands of square aerial photographs."
Go to: https://digital.library.sc.edu/collections/south-carolina-aerial-photograph-indexes-1937-1989/

THE LAY OF THE LAND Vintage Aerial Views

"The Lay of the Land" featuring vintage aerial views of Gastonia, from "Vintage Gastonia" by Timothy Craig Ellis.

https://vintagegastonia.com/the-lay-of-the-land

NC OneMap GeoSpatial Portal

Search, browse, and download aerial photography for the entire state at NC OneMap.

Go to: https://www.nconemap.gov/

The United States Geological Survey - EarthExplorer

The USGS EarthExplorer has a wide range of aerial imagery covering decades.

Go to: https://earthexplorer.usgs.gov/

Google Maps

View satellite images and street level views with Google Maps.

Go to: https://www.google.com/maps/

United States Department of Agriculture

The USDA has the Aerial Photography Field Office (APFO) which houses aerial film that dates from 1955 to the present. They have aerial image coverage of most of the United States and its territories. Instructions to order imagery are available.

Go to: https://www.fsa.usda.gov/programs-and-services/aerial-photography/

Mid 1930’s  – 1954 USDA imagery available at National Archives. Online indexes for some areas are available.

Go to: https://catalog.archives.gov/id/305871


Index to Aerial Photography of Gaston County, North Carolina 1
Go to: https://catalog.archives.gov/id/138928457

Index to Aerial Photography of Gaston County, North Carolina 1
Go to: https://catalog.archives.gov/id/138928461

Index to Aerial Photography of Gaston County, North Carolina 2
Go to: https://catalog.archives.gov/id/138928459

 

United States Geological Survey Satellite Image of Stanley

┬ęCopyright 2021, Gaston County Public Library. All Rights Reserved.