LibGuides: Maps: Census and Enumeration

National Archives ED Map Search

The National Archives provides digital scans of ED maps in the record series, Enumeration District and Related Maps, 1880 - 1990.

The National Archives provides an ED Map Search. Enter in the search box: 1950 Census maps + the county + the state. For example "1950 Census maps Gaston North Carolina". Warning: these can be very large images.
Go to: http://www.archives.gov/research/catalog/
View in one step the Enumeration District Maps for 1950 at Census website by Stephen P. Morse, PhD & Joel D. Weintraub, PhD.
Search by state, county, and city to find "Links to NARA viewer" and "Direct links to jpegs on NARA server" of ED maps.
Go to: https://stevemorse.org/census/arc1940-1950edmaps.html

Enumeration District Maps in One Step

View Enumeration District Maps for 1940 and 1950 at Census website by Stephen P. Morse, PhD & Joel D. Weintraub, PhD

Go to: http://stevemorse.org/census/arc1940-1950edmaps.html?year=1940

Historical Atlases and Maps of U.S. and States

Use Mapofus.org to find out when a county was formed and from what other counties its territory was taken. This web site provides this information for all U. S. counties.
Select a State such as North Carolina.

Go to: https://www.mapofus.org/

HeritageQuest Database

HeritageQuest is a free genealogy database available through NCLive.org. It can be accessed from any internet-enabled device with a current library card number.

HeritageQuest has the Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920. Select a State to see how the county boundaries changed with each census year or view the entire United States by decade to see the changes in state boundary lines.

HeritageQuest has the U.S. Enumeration District Maps and Descriptions, 1940. The 1940 census was divided into enumeration districts (geographic areas) created to allow a census taker (enumerator) to visit every house in the district within a two-week period (one month allowed for rural areas). Enumeration district maps illustrate these districts’ boundaries.

United States Enumeration District Maps for the Twelfth through the Sixteenth US Censuses, 1900-1940

Family Search has the United States Enumeration District Maps for the Twelfth through the Sixteenth US Censuses, 1900-1940.
Go to: https://familysearch.org/search/collection/2329948

U.S. Census LibGuide

For more information about the U.S. Census and Enumeration Districts, please visit the Census LibGuide.

Go to: http://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/census