Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Gaston County

African American

  • Gaston County African American Resources Survey, 2000 [PDF] by Emily Ramsey & Lara Ramsey, Consultants for North Carolina Historic Preservation Office (November 9, 2000). Located at Architectural Survey Records & Reports.

  • Med Week '93 Minority Enterprise Development Week.  A booklet detailing the history of Minority Enterprise Development Week in Gastonia and Gaston County, including a list and information about important local minority figures and business pioneers.

  • High schools of North Carolina: public and private, white and colored, urban and rural: a complete list.1925-1926; 1926-1927.

  • High School Principals' Annual Reports, Gaston to Guilford County. This file includes high school principals' annual reports from schools in Guilford County, Gaston County, and Granville County. The reports include information about enrollment, names of graduates, grounds, equipment, educational material, schedules, curricula, staffing, and school organization. The reports affected school ratings and teacher salaries. Includes Highland High School (Gastonia), John Chavis High School (Cherryville), Lincoln Academy (Kings Mountain), Reid High School (Belmont), and Stewart Jr. High School (Bessemer City). 1924-1925; 1925-1926; 1926-1927; 1927-1928; 1929-1930; 1930-1931; 1931-1932; 1932-1933; 1933-1934; 1934-1935; 1935-1936; 1936-1937; 1937-19381938-1939; 1939-1940; 1940-1941; 1941-1942; 1942-19431943-1944; 1944-1945; 1945-1946; 1946-19471947-1950.

  • African American Education collection contains documents and photographs related to African American education in North Carolina before 1950 drawn from the collections of the Charlotte Hawkins Brown Museum and the Division of Negro Education of the Department of Public Instruction record group in the custody of the State Archives of North Carolina. (Includes records related to Julius Rosenwald Fund)
    Go to: https://digital.ncdcr.gov/digital/custom/african-american-education

  • Biennial report of the Superintendent of Public Instruction of North Carolina for the scholastic years 1885-1886; 1920-22; 1922-23; 1923-24; and more provides statistics of the number of teachers, enrollment, and enrollment by grade, of North Carolina schools by county.

  • Lincoln Academy, Kings Mountain, N.C. 1888 - 1955. Lincoln Academy, named after President Abraham Lincoln, was opened as a boarding school for African-American girls in the fall of 1888 by Emily Catherine Prudden. List of print and online resources.
    Go to: https://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/lincoln-academy

  • African American High Schools in North Carolina:  a list of the names and locations of all of the public African American high schools compiled from the North Carolina Educational Directory around the time that the schools were desegregated.
    Go to: https://tools.digitalnc.org/aahighschools/

  • Colored Elementary & High School--Gastonia (1926). Photograph of Colored Elementary & High School in Gastonia, North Carolina, information in regards to cost of building, property value, and population is attached to the photograph.

  • For Yearbooks, visit Digital Gaston: Yearbooks.
    Go to: https://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/digital-gaston-county/yearbooks

┬ęCopyright 2021, Gaston County Public Library. All Rights Reserved.