Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Gaston County

Artists

Biblioboard Collection about Gaston County artists. Artists include John Thomas Biggers, Lee Edison Hansel, Margaret McConnell Holt, Ralph Ray, Jr.

Juan Logan; What Do You See? Exploring the work of Juan Logan Authored by Erika Hirugami, BA Founder & Chief Executive Officer at Curator Love. 2016.

The D. E. McConnell Art Collection

The D. E. McConnell Art Collection of the Gaston County Public Library includes paintings, drawings, sculptures, and etchings.

This collection of original paintings, sketches, and sculptures by artists who have worked in the Carolinas was presented to the Gaston County Public Library by Margaret McConnell Holt of Concord, North Carolina. It was established in memory of Mrs. Holt's father, Dr. D.E. McConnell, who around 1900 originated Gastonia's first lending library in his dental office with fifty books of his own. From this beginning came a main library with 9 branches circulating over 900,000 items.

In selecting works by award-winning artists who exhibited in top juried shows in N.C., the Southeast, and across the nation, Mrs. Holt and her husband had in mind especially all people who are just beginning to look and see. "Because of our interest in the importance of good humor and the lyrical side of life, the pictures and sculptures will be more cheerful than sad. We hope they will give pleasure and challenge the imagination," said Mrs. Holt in presenting the growing collection.

Adapted from a statement made by Margaret McConnell Holt, 1971

Library Art Collection

Art collection of the Gaston County Public Library includes paintings, drawings, sculptures, and etchings

Murals

Painting: North Carolina, North Dakota, New Jersey, New Hampshire, New Mexico.

https://catalog.archives.gov/id/70169886

Image 27, 28: Richard Jansen - "Threshing Grain" - Lincolnton, North Carolina.

Image 29, 30: Francis Speight - "Cotton Field and Spinning Mill" - Gastonia, North Carolina.

Series: Completed Murals and Sculptures in United States Post Offices and other Federal Buildings, 1935 - 1943
Record Group 121: Records of the Public Buildings Service, 1801 - 2000

 

Mural of Battle Welcomed at Kings Mountain City Hall. The Gaston Observer.
Burkhard, Verona -mural, Battle of Kings Mountain
Works Progress Administration - murals

┬ęCopyright 2021, Gaston County Public Library. All Rights Reserved.