Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
banner link link link link link link

Digital Gaston County

Digitized Gaston County Architecture and Engineering

Gaston County Architectural Heritage Driving Tour. Gaston County Historic Preservation Commission (Gastonia, N.C.) A pictorial tour and guide through the historic architectural buildings and homes throughout Gaston County. 1982?


The DigitalNC Gaston County photograph collection includes historic architectural buildings and homes.


North Carolina Architectural Survey Reports includes Gaston County African American Resources Survey, 2000


The North Carolina Architects & Builders website has a biographical dictionary of architects and builders who have produced North Carolina's architecture for more than 300 years. You can search by name, building, work locations, trades, and years active.

Go to: http://ncarchitects.lib.ncsu.ed


Architectural drawings and Design and construction documents:


Gaston County Public Library Digital History Collection has an Architecture Collection of photographs and documents.


Author: Gaston County Public Library
Title:  Digital Gaston County: Architecture
URL: http://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/digital-gaston-county/architecture
Revised: 6 August 2020

Hugh Edward White

The North Carolina Architects & Builders website has a biographical dictionary of architects and builders who have produced North Carolina's architecture for more than 300 years. You can search by name, building, work locations, trades, and years active.

Includes the biography of Hugh Edward White (June 27, 1869- June 25, 1939) who became the leading architect in Gastonia, N.C.

Go to: http://ncarchitects.lib.ncsu.edu/

 

Gaston Alive Magazine article about Hugh Edward White: One Man's Legacy by Ben Dungan. Nov. 20, 2017.
Go to: https://gastonalive.com/2017/11/one-mans-legacy/

 

National register multiple property documentation form: Architecture of Hugh Edward White and White, Streeter, and Chamberlain, 1921-1939, Gaston County, North Carolina. by Davyd Foard Hood, 14 February 1999. Also available here.


Vintage Architectural Art "is a website designed to promote the preservation and appreciation of intact collections of old architectural drawings, etchings, and engravings, and made available to an appreciating public.  The collections are from the archives of Hugh E. White, Sr., architect (1898-1939) and preserved by subsequent family generations."
Go to: http://www.vintagearchitecturalart.com/about.htm

 

┬ęCopyright 2015, Gaston County Public Library. All Rights Reserved.