Skip to Main Content

Digital Gaston County, North Carolina

Digitized Photographs

Gaston County eighth grade class handwritten reports, illustrated with historical photographs, produced by Gaston County schools in the 1950s:

 

Collections:

DigitalNC Images of North Carolina - Gaston County
Go to: https://www.digitalnc.org/counties/gaston-county/

DigitalNC Images of North Carolina - Gastonia
Go to: https://www.digitalnc.org/combined-search/?searchterm=Gastonia

Vintage Gastonia by Timothy Craig Ellis includes historic photographs of Gastonia mills, schools, churches, trains, homes, and more.
Go to: https://vintagegastonia.com/

Millican Pictorial History Museum in Belmont has photographs of Gaston County cities, churches, schools, trolleys, trains, trucks, service stations, drive – ins, theaters, and more. Many photographs have been posted online at their website.
Go to: http://millicanpictorialhistorymuseum.com/

Gaston County Historic Preservation Commission's Historic Photos
Go to: https://www.gastongov.com/gallery.aspx?AID=2

Gaston County Photo Gallery (Includes 1890s Village, Belmont MS Photos & Drawings, and more)
Go to: https://www.gastongov.com/gallery.aspx

Cherryville Historical Museum
Go to: http://www.cherryvillemuseum.com/photos.html

City of Mount Holly: Online Collections, by Mount Holly Historical Society
Go to: https://hub.catalogit.app/8142
Go to: https://www.mounthollynchistoricalsociety.org/

City of Gastonia’s 141st birthday – historical photo gallery
Go to: https://cityofgastonia.news/2018/01/141st-birthday-photo-gallery/

North Carolina county photographic collection : Gaston County (Series 1.36) This series contains images of locations, people, and events from Gaston County, N.C. (Allen Electric Power Plant; Riverbend Electric Generating Plant; Arkay Mills; Dixon Cotton Mills & Ruby Cotton Mills; Jon. F. Love Dry Goods, Shoes, Clothing, and Millinery Letterhead; Myers Mills; Myrtle Mills; Textile Mills; Victory & Winget Mills; Courthouse; G. W. Ragan House; A.M. Yarn & Processing Company: Mercerizing Plant: Superintendent and Overseers, 23 August 1928; Riverbend Power Plant, circa 1938; Ranlo Manufacturing Company.
Go to: finding-aids.lib.unc.edu/P0001/#d1e14454

Carnegie Survey of the Architecture of the South by Frances Benjamin Johnston includes 24 photographs of Gaston County, North Carolina. (Gaston County Bookmobile, Gastonia; Willian Rankin House, Mount Holly vicinity; Mason House, Dallas vicinity; Court House, Gaston County; Rufus Johnston House; John Smith House; Thomas Rhyne House; John Moore House; Heyl House)

Search the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog for Gaston County photographs:
Subject Heading "United States--North Carolina--Gaston County" (Includes photograph of "Gastonia, North Carolina. On U.S. Highway 29 from a truck enroute to Greenville, South Carolina" 1943 Mar.)
Go to: https://www.loc.gov/pictures/search/?q=United%20States--North%20Carolina--Gaston%20County

 

Lewis Hine, National Child Labor Committee

National Child Labor Committee Photographs taken by Lewis Hine, ca. 1912 - ca. 1912.

https://catalog.archives.gov/id/523064

This series has been digitized and is now fully available online.

The photographs were taken by photographer Lewis Hine from 1908 to 1912 for the National Child Labor Committee (NCLC) The NCLC was founded in 1904 and chartered by Congress in 1907. Shortly after its founding in 1912, the Children's Bureau received the photographic prints from the National Child Labor Committee.

State Archives of North Carolina

State Archives of North Carolina's Historic Preservation Photographs, 1850-2018. Photographic negatives concerning historic structures investigated by the Survey and Planning Unit of the North Carolina State Historic Preservation Office.

State Archives of North Carolina's General Negative Collection, PHC.GENERAL.NEGATIVES. The Archives and History Photograph Collection is an artificial collection of about 250,000 photographs taken by Department of Cultural Resources personnel. Images in the Archives and History Photograph collection are in the form of black and white negatives ranging in size from 35mm to 4" x 5" in format. The photographic negatives date from 1950 to the present, but contain some duplications of images that span the earliest years of photography in North Carolina.

┬ęCopyright 2021, Gaston County Public Library. All Rights Reserved.