See also: Architecture, City Directories, Cookbooks, Films, HeritageQuest Local History Books, History & Environment, Maps, Newspapers, Religion, Yearbooks
In order by denomination: African Methodist Episcopal - Baptist - Episcopal - Lutheran - Methodist - Presbyterian - Roman Catholic
A Reply to a Gaston Co.Preacher by Rev. F. Felix, O.S.B. 16 p.
History of Zion Church, 1816-1955. by Lyda Poston. 1955, 59 p.
History of African Methodist Episcopal Zion churches in the Lincolnton District of the Western North Carolina Conference, prepared by the Lincolnton District Layman's Council, 1982, 72 p.
Religion - African Methodist Episcopal - Baptist - Episcopal - Lutheran - Methodist - Presbyterian - Roman Catholic
The Biblical Recorder official journal of the North Carolina Baptist State Convention, 1834-1970.
Hebron Baptist Church record, 1838-1922. Microfilm of original records. Contains a history, minutes of meetings and lists of members.
Minute book, 1838-1899 (Hebron Baptist Church, Gaston County, N.C.)
Minute book, 1899-1922 (Hebron Baptist Church, Gaston County, N.C.)
Hebron Baptist Church (Lincoln & Gaston Counties) (1838, 1883) transcription. NCGS Journal. Volume 43 (2017) Number 2 and 3. Gastonia Main Library, 929.1 NOR NCC
Stanley First Baptist Church (Stanley, N.C.) Records
Minute book, 1853-1874 (Stanley First Baptist Church, Stanley, N.C.)
Bruington Baptist Church record book, 1853-1872. Microfilm of original records. Contains minutes of meetings and lists of members.
Bruington Memorial Baptist Church (Gaston County, N.C.) Minute Book 1853-1874 [Stanley First Baptist Church, Stanley, N.C.]
Baptist Newspaper Collection: A collection of Baptist newspaper titles published within North Carolina made available via DigitalNC.org. Issues date from 1857.
Mount Zion Baptist Church (Cherryville, N.C.) records. 1859-1976. (By Appointment Only at Wake Forest University).
Belmont First (Belmont, Gaston County) 1874.
Dallas (Dallas, Gaston County) 1879. (Dallas Baptist Church)
1879 Minutes, Western Baptist Missionary Berean Association. Charlotte, 1879, 9 p.
1879 Minutes, Western Baptist Missionary Union. Charlotte, 1880, 10 p.
1882 Minutes, Western Baptist Missionary Union. Raleigh, 1882, 12 p.
1883 Minutes, Western Baptist Convention. Hendersonville, 1884, 11 p.
Mount Holly First Baptist Church (Mount Holly, N.C.) records. Records consist of minutes of church conferences from the organization of the church, Jan. 12, 1890 to Feb. 26, 1989, etc.
Cherryville (Cherryville, Gaston County) 1893. (Cherryville First Baptist Church)
The Baptist Worker (Gastonia, N.C.) 1900
Minutes of the Kings Mountain Baptist Association: 1900, 1901, 1902, 1903, 1904, 1905, 1906, 1907, 1909, 1910, 1911, 1912, 1913, 1914, 1915, 1916, 1917, 1916, 1918, 1919, 1920, 1921, 1922, 1923.
The history of the South Fork Baptist Association; or, the Baptists for one hundred years in Lincoln, Catawba, and Gaston Counties, North Carolina, by William Alexander Graham. Lincolnton NC, Journal Printing Co., 1901, 200 p.
East Gastonia (Gaston County, Gastonia) 1901; 2019-06-25 (issued)
Crowder's Mountain I/ II (Gaston County) 1905-1907.
Alexis (Alexis, Gaston County) 1903.
Cramerton First Baptist Church 1910.
East Belmont (Gaston County, Belmont) 1912.
Centerview (Belmont, Gaston County) 1921.
History of the First Baptist Church of Kings Mountain, N. C. Black, C. J. (Charles Jefferson) 1926.
Minutes of the ... session of the Gaston County Baptist Association (Annual of the Gaston Baptist Association of North Carolina):
1919 [first session]-1925, 1926-1930, 1931-1935, 1936-1940, 1941-1955, 1956-1960, 1961-1965, 1966-1970, 1971-1975, 1976-1980, 1981-1985, 1986-1990, 1991-1993, 1994-1995, 1996-1998, 1999-2000, 2002.
Mount Zion Baptist Church (Alexis, N.C) records. Records consist of minutes of church conferences from August 1921 to September 27, 1987 [broken series], including membership rolls; a church census, 1950; a church history with photographs; requests for church letters (1963-1965); and undated materials.
Gastonia First Baptist Church (Gastonia, N.C.) records. 1912-1957. (By Appointment Only at Wake Forest University).
Minutes of the ... annual meeting of the Woman's Missionary Union of the Gaston County Baptist Association, 1922, Bessemer City, N. C., 11 p.
Flint Groves Baptist Church (Gastonia, N.C.) records. 1923-1971. (By Appointment Only at Wake Forest University).
A short history of Sandy Plains Baptist Church, by Charles Jefferson Black, Gastonia?, 1923, 174 p.
Gaston County Baptist Messenger (Gastonia, N.C.) 1923
Directory of Loray Baptist Church, 1923-1924, 38 p.
The origin of the Baptist, by C. J. Black, Now Pastor of Loray Baptist Church, Gastonia, N.C. 1924, 118 p.
A history of Loray Baptist Church, by C. J. (Charles Jefferson) Black. 1923, 71 p.
Eagle Grove (Gaston County) 1925-1927.
Gaston County Baptist church history, compiled by Special Historical Commission of the Gaston County Baptist Association, 1935, 80 p.
Craig Memorial (Stanly, Gaston County) 1938.
Berea (Gaston County) 1939.
Cherryville Second (Gaston County) 1940.
Beech Avenue (Gaston County) 1941.
Bethlehem (Gastonia, Gaston County) 1942; 2018-05-17 (issued)
Anthony Grove (Cherryville, Gaston County) 1942.
First Baptist Church: Bartlett A. Bowers, D.D. Pastor 1928-1944. May 21, 1944. [Gastonia, NC] 8 p.
East Chapel (Gaston County) North Carolina Baptist Church and Association Files. Z. Smith Reynolds Library at Wake Forest University.
Catawba Heights (Belmont, Gaston County) 1950; 2021-09-22 (issued)
Bingham Memorial (Bessemer City, Gaston County) 1951.
Riverside Baptist Church (Gastonia, N.C.) records. 1956-1971. (By Appointment Only at Wake Forest University).
Chaple Grove (Gastonia, Gaston County)1963; 2019-08-06 (issued)
Alexander Memorial (Belmont, Gaston County) 1965.
Services of dedication : the renovated sanctuary of First Baptist Church, Gastonia, North Carolina. 1967, 18 p.
Echoes of East : a history: 1901-1971 East Baptist Church Gastonia N.C., by Juanita Alexander. 1971, 90 p. Also Available.
Mine eyes have seen the glory : a historical treatise of the foundation, the development, and the accomplishments of Long Creek Memorial Baptist Church on the occasion of the 200th anniversary, 1772-1972. [Dallas], 1972, 278 p.
The Proceedings of Catholics and Baptists in ecumenical dialogue ... May 14-16, 1973 by Angell, J. William (John William); Belmont Abbey College; Ecumenical Institute. 1973.
Clemons (Clemmons, Forsyth County) 1974; 2019-09-03 (issued)
A history of First Baptist Church, Gastonia, N. C., by R. L. Bolick, 1976, 66 p.
History of Catawba Heights Baptist Church. Belmont, North Carolina. 1977, 3 p.
History of Woodlawn Baptist Church, 1928-1978, Lowell, North Carolina, 1978, 46 p.
Brookleigh (Gaston County) 1978; 2018-06-21 (issued) Newspaper clippings.
Shady Grove Baptist Church : Route 3, Box 436, Cherryville, North Carolina : centennial celebration, 1881-1981. Shady Grove Baptist Church (Cherryville, N.C.) 1981, 38 p.
A Brief History of First Baptist Church, Cramerton, N.C. 1983, 2 p.
Shady Grove Baptist Church (Cherryville, N.C.) records. 1983-1986. (By Appointment Only at Wake Forest University).
Saint Paul Baptist Church, Gastonia, North Carolina: centennial year 1885-1985, by 1986, 90 p.
Covenant (Gaston County) 1989.
History of Mountain Island Mill & Hebron Baptist Church & Flat Rock Cemetery : Gaston County, North Carolina, by Linda Adams Bell, 1997, 106 p.
New Prospect Baptist Church, Shelby, NC: 150 years of history, 1854-2004 by Hord, Shirley B., editor. 2004.
Beyond the stained glass : a living history of First Baptist Church, Shelby, North Carolina : 160 years on mission together, 1847-2007. by West, J A,Causby, Polly Willis,Hamrick, Becky. 2007.
Boyd Friendship (Gastonia, Gaston County) 2018-06-21 (issued)
East Chapel (Gaston County) 3/22/19 (issued)
Country Meadows (Cramerton, Gaston County) 2019-11-12 (issued)
Religion - African Methodist Episcopal - Baptist - Episcopal - Lutheran - Methodist - Presbyterian - Roman Catholic
White Haven Church and the Rev. Robert Johnston Miller, by Joseph Blount Cheshire. Chapter XIII of Sketches of church history in North Carolina, Wilmington, 1892, 52 p. Church in Gaston County.
Journal of the ... annual convention of the Missionary District of Asheville. Includes Gaston County.
8th- 12th (1902-1906) Bound in one volume. 13th- 16th (1907-1910) Bound in one volume.
17th- 20th (1911-1914) Bound n one volume. 20-23 (1914-17) Bound in one volume.
24 (1918). 25-26 (1919-20) Bound in one volume. 27 (1921).
St. Luke's Parish in Lincolnton, N.C., founded, November 29, 1841 : a record of the first one hundred years of service of the parish. published by St. Luke's Church (Lincolnton, N.C.) 1941, 19 p.
Religion - African Methodist Episcopal - Baptist - Episcopal - Lutheran - Methodist - Presbyterian - Roman Catholic
Minutes of the ... annual convention of the Evangelical Lutheran Tennessee Synod . New Market, Va., Henkel, 1820- Note: The Tennessee Synod united with the North Carolina Synod to form the United Evangelical Lutheran Synod of North Carolina. Includes Gaston and Lincoln Counties. Imprint varies. Title fluctuates; numerous small variations; some years in German. 1st, 1820 has title: Kurze Nachricht von den Verrichtungen der ersten Conferenz, der deutschen, evangelisch lutherischen Prediger, gehalten in dem Staate Tennessee ...
1st-20th(1820-1840), 41st-65th(1861-1885), 56th- 65th (1876-1885), 66th- 77th(1886-1897),
78th 90th (1898-1910) , 85th(1905), 91st- 100th (1911-1920).
Christ Evangelical Lutheran Church (Stanley, North Carolina) - Church register, 1847-1927. Raleigh, North Carolina : North Carolina Department of Archives and History, 1970.
Biography of Rev. Alfred J. Fox, M. D., by his son, Junius B. Fox, with an introduction by his son, Luther A. Fox. Philadelphia: Lutheran Publication Society, 1885, 150 p.. Note: "The Christian's conflict, victory and reward. Memorial sermon on the death of Rev. Alfred J. Fox ... by Rev. Abel J. Brown, D.D.", p. 83-111. "Sermon[s], preached by the Rev. A.J. Fox ...", p. 112-150.
History of the Evangelical Lutheran Tennessee Synod, by Socrates Henkel. New Market, Va., 1890, 306 p.
Saint John's Lutheran Church. Cherryville, North Carolina. The Seventy-Fifth Anniversary 1881-1956. Saint John's Evangelical Lutheran Church (Cherryville, N.C.) The Eagle Publishing Co. 1956, 26 p.
The anniversary booklet celebrating the one hundredth anniversary, 1858-1958, of Bethphage Lutheran Church, Lincolnton, N.C. prepared by the Bethphage Lutheran Church (Lincolnton, N.C.). Anniversary Committee. 1958, 16 p.
St. John's Lutheran Church. Cherryville, N.C. Formal Opening and Dedication Service. May 19, 1963.
The History of Buffalo Creek Lutheran Church, North Carolina by Rev. Mark J. Ericson 1988. Located in what is presently Cleveland County, North Carolina; between Cherryville and Shelby. Buffalo Creek Lutheran Church transitioned to New Prospect Baptist Church.
The history of Bethel Evangelical Lutheran Church. by Robert C. Carpenter. 1990, 207 p.
Thirteen pastors and 110 birthdays to the glory of God : life sketches. St. John's Lutheran Church Cherryville, N.C. 1881-1991. by Mary Frances Mauney. 1991, 20 p. Also available here.
Beaver Dam Lutheran Church Cemetery : a challenge for our time, by Mary Frances Mauney and John D. Mauney, 1992, 34 p Also available here.
A service of memory : a complete history of facts and remembrances about Lutheran Chapel Evangelical Church, founded 1828. History compilations by the Rev. G.H.C. Parks, Mrs. Hoyle Whiteside, [and] Mrs. Robert L. Thornburg, 1993, 34 p.
The story of St. John's Lutheran Church Cemetery, 310 West Church Street, Cherryville, North Carolina : founded circa 1881-1884. by Mary Frances Mauney. 1995, 9 p.
Life of Grace Evangelical Lutheran Church: Centennial 1903-2003 [Bessemer City], 2003, 190 p.
Religion - African Methodist Episcopal - Baptist - Episcopal - Lutheran - Methodist - Presbyterian - Roman Catholic
Directory of Gastonia and Bethesda M.E. Churches, South, for conference year 1891. 20 p.
Gastonia Main Street Methodist Church Program October 11, 1925. 4 p.
Bradley Memorial Methodist Church Gastonia, North Carolina. September 9th, 1951. Morning Worship program pamphlet.
Covenant Methodist Church 60 Years of History. by George W. Bumgarner, [Gastonia, N.C.] 1958.
Methodism in western North Carolina, by Elmer T. Clark, 1966, 210 p.
Lowell United Methodist Church. 100th Anniversary. September 29, 1968. Booklet contains a history of church; images of the first, second, third church (parsonage) building; Order of Service (Centennial Service); Centennial Planning Committee; and Ministers who have served the church since 1892. Lowell United Methodist Church, 1968. 12 p.
History of the Pleasant Grove United Methodist Church Lincolnton, N.C. Compiled by the Committee on Records and History. 1969?
Shiloh and beyond; a history of the First United Methodist Church, Gastonia, N.C., 1870-1970, by Dameron H. Williams. [Gastonia N.C., 1973?]
First United Methodist Church, Cherryville, North Carolina: a history. by Robinson, W. T. [North Carolina]: Cherryville, 1974.
United Methodist church : 1882-1982 centennial celebration, by McAdenville United Methodist Church (McAdenville, N.C.), 1982, 36 p.
Denver United Methodist Church, 1895-1995 : centennial moments in history Denver United Methodist Church (Denver, N.C.) 1995.
Religion - African Methodist Episcopal - Baptist - Episcopal - Lutheran - Methodist - Presbyterian - Roman Catholic
The Centennial history of the Associate Reformed Presbyterian church.: 1803-1903. 1905, 750 p.
Rev. Robert Zenas Johnston, 1834-1908 : memorial tributes. Published by Lincolnton Presbyterian Church, Lincolnton, N.C. 1908, 33 p.
Pioneer Presbyterian Preachers of the Piedmont North Carolina, (and here) by Isaac Stuart McElroy, 1928, 50 p. (Includes Rev. Humphrey Hunter 1755-1827)
History of Goshen Church, by Joseph Kirkland Hall, 1939, 22 p.
History of Olney Presbyterian Church Gastonia North Carolina 1793-1947. by W. W. Glenn. 40 p.
History of the Cherryville Presbyterian Church, compiled by Reverend George L. Riddle, 1947. Includes newspaper clippings and photographs.
History of First Presbyterian Church Gastonia by Hugh A. Query. [Gastonia, N.C. : The Church] 1948.
Presbyterian Church in the U.S. Presbytery of Granville minutes, 1931-1942, Kings Mountain, 1902-1950. Presbyterian Church in the U.S. Presbytery of Granville, Kings Mountain.
Presbyterian Church in the U.S. Presbytery of Granville minutes,1963-1964, Kings Mountain, 1951-1965, Mecklenburg, 1951-1958. Presbyterian Church in the U.S. Presbytery of Granville, Kings Mountain, Mecklenberg.
First Presbyterian Church Program, Gastonia, North Carolina, December 9, 1951. 4 p.
The First Presbyterian Church of Gastonia, N.C.: a history, by Charles F. Daniel, 1961, 64 p.
First Presbyterian Church, Gastonia, N.C. Church program, 17 December 1961.
A History of Mount Holly Presbyterian Church by Holland, Willis F., 1964. "A brief history of Mount Holly Presbyterian Church, including some photographs of the church buildings."
History of Olney Presbyterian Church, 1793-1947, by T. G. Tate, 1947.
First Presbyterian Church of Mount Holly Collection available on DigitalNC. includes bulletins, photographs, and church histories.
Mount Holly Presbyterian Church Bulletins [1949-51] [1952-53] [1954-55] [1956-58] [1961-63] [1964-66] [1967-69] [1973-75]
Lowell United Methodist Church 100th Anniversary. September 29, 1968. Contains history of church; images of the first, second, third church (parsonage) building; Order of Service (Centennial Service); Centennial Planning Committee; and Ministers who have served the church since 1892.
History of New Hope Presbyterian Church, Gastonia, N.C. : established 1793. 1975, 123 p.
First Presbyterian Church, Kings Mountain, North Carolina : one-hundreth anniversary, April the eighth, nineteen hundred and eighty-four. by Josephine E. Weir. 1984.
History of First Presbyterian Church, Belmont North Carolina, 1890-1990, 1990, 188 p.
A History of the First Presbyterian Church, Mount Holly, North Carolina, 1891-1991 "A brief history of Mount Holly Presbyterian Church dedicated to Thomas Worth Springs, Jr. The booklet includes illustrations of the church buildings."
Hope preserved: the story of New Hope Presbyterian Church (Gastonia), by Brian Dale Weger. 1992, 198 p.
The history of West Avenue Presbyterian Church : 1907-2004 by West Avenue Presbyterian Church (Gastonia, N.C.) 2004, 121 p.
A Christian witness : history of the First Presbyterian Church, Gastonia, North Carolina, 1882-2005. by Marion A. Ellis. 2005, 242 p.
The history of West Avenue Presbyterian Church : 1907-2004. Gastonia, 2006, 142 p.
Religion - African Methodist Episcopal - Baptist - Episcopal - Lutheran - Methodist - Presbyterian - Roman Catholic
Catholicity in the Carolinas and Georgia: Leaves of Its History; A.D. 1820 - A.D. 1878, by Jeremiah Joseph O'Connell. New York: D. J. Sadlier, 1879, 674 p.
[Reminiscences of Catholicity in North Carolina], by James Gibbons. Supplied title. "J. Card. Gibbons, Archbishop of Baltimore ... Feb. 18th, 1891." Addressed to the "Gentlemen and friends of the United States Catholic Historical Society of New York" at the Cardinal's house, Baltimore, Md."--P. [1]. 26 p.
"A North Carolina monastery," by John Spencer Bassett, Magazine of American History, v. 29, no. 2, February 1893, "Paper read before the Historical Seminary of Johns Hopkins University, December 16, 1892."--P. [131]-135.
A North Carolina monastery by John Spencer Bassett. Detached from: Magazine of American history, a monthly illustrated journal. Vol. 29, no. 2 (Feb. 1893)
Prospectus of Sacred Heart Academy at Belmont, Gaston County, North Carolina. by Sacred Heart Academy (Belmont, N.C.). 1903, 53 p.
Crossroads, Belmont Abbey College newspaper collection spans from 1971-1979 with issues published every other month.
The crescat chronicle [serial] by Belmont Abbey College. 1972.
Crescat [serial] by Belmont Abbey College. 1976; 1995.
The Proceedings of Catholics and Baptists in ecumenical dialogue ... May 14-16, 1973 by Angell, J. William (John William); Belmont Abbey College; Ecumenical Institute. 1973.
My Lord of Belmont, a biography of Leo Haid, by Dom Paschal Baumstein. Belmont, Herald House, 1985, 458 p.
Chronology of Belmont Abbey and College. The Archives of Belmont Abbey, 1993.
Blessing the years to come : [Belmont Abbey, a pictorial perspective] by Paschal Baumstein and Debra G. Estes. Belmont, Archives of Belmont Abbey, 1997, 138 p.
Holy Angels Heartline (Mother Mary Benignus Hoban) Vol XIII No 1 Spring Summer 2001.
The Catholic News & Herald January 5, 2001, Vol. 10, No. 17. (Mother Mary Benignus Hoban)
Religion - African Methodist Episcopal - Baptist - Episcopal - Lutheran - Methodist - Presbyterian - Roman Catholic
--
See also: Architecture, City Directories, Cookbooks, Films, HeritageQuest Local History Books, History & Environment, Maps, Newspapers, Religion, Yearbooks
Author: Gaston County Public Library
Title: Digital Gaston County: Religion
URL: http://gastonlibrary.libguides.com/digital-gaston-county/religion
Revised: 7 December 2020
©Copyright 2021, Gaston County Public Library. All Rights Reserved.